University of Delaware
UD's Marks of Excellence

University of Delaware Research Centers & Institutes

Thriving research centers and institutes at the University of Delaware, reflect the diversity and rigor of UD's research interests and activity and our commitment to improving the quality of life in Delaware and beyond.

To an extent matched by few peer institutions, the University of Delaware fulfills the Kellogg Commission’s model of an “engaged university” — an institution that makes a comprehensive and sustained contribution to the improvement of the communities it serves. UD's research centers increasingly are becoming important state, national, and international assets. Our faculty attract significant research sponsorship for projects and programs of student and public benefit, including support for federally funded national centers of excellence.

Agricultural Experimental Station>>Mark Rieger, Dean and Director
ADVANCE InstituteADVANCEShawna Vican, Director
Applied Science & Engineering LaboratoriesASELKathleen F. McCoy, Director
Art Conservation Laboratories at Winterthur>>Lois Price, Director
Avian Biosciences Center>>Jack Gelb, Jr., Director
Bartol Research Institute>>Stephen Barr, Director
Catalysis Center for Energy InnovationCCEIDionisios G. Vlachos, Director
Center for Applied Business & Economic ResearchCABERWilliam Latham & Kenneth Lewis, Co-Directors
Center for Applied Coastal Research>>Nobu Kobayashi, Director
Center for Applied Demography & Survey ResearchCADSREdward C. Ratledge, Director
Center for Archaeological Research>>Lu Ann DeCunzo, Chair
Center for Bioinformatics & Computational BiologyCBCBCathy Wu, Director
Center for Biomedical Engineering ResearchCBERMichael H. Santare, Director
Center for Carbon-free Power IntegrationCCPIJeremy Firestone, Director
Center for Catalytic Science & TechnologyCCSTRaul F. Lobo, Director
Center for Climate and Land-Surface ChangeCCLCCort Willmott & Michael A. O'Neal, Interim Co-Directors
Center for Community Research & ServiceCCRSSteven W. Peuquet, Director
Center for Composite MaterialsCCMJohn W. Gillespie, Jr., Director
Center for Disabilities StudiesCDSBeth Mineo, Director
Center for Drug & Health StudiesCDHSChristy A. Visher, Director
Center for Economic Education & EntrepreneurshipCEEECarlos Asarta, Director
Center for Energy & Environmental PolicyCEEPJohn Byrne, Director
Center for Environmental GenomicsCEGDavid L. Kirchman, Director
Center for Experimental & Applied EconomicsCEAEKent Messer, Director
Center for Fuel Cell ResearchCFRAjay Prasad, Director
Center for Historic Architecture & DesignCHADDavid L. Ames, Director
Center for Improving Learning of FractionsCILFNancy C. Jordan, Director
Center for Information and Communication SciencesUDCICSChase Cotton, Director
Center for Innovative Bridge EngineeringCIBrEDennis Mertz, Director
Center for Managed Ecosystems>>Doug Tallamy, Director
Center for Material Culture Studies>> Deborah Andrews, Director
Center for Molecular & Engineering ThermodynamicsCMETThomas H. Epps, III, Director
Center for Neutron ScienceCNSNorman Wagner, Director
Center for Political CommunicationCPCRalph J. Begleiter, Director
Center for Remote SensingCRS Vic Klemas & Xiao-Hai Yan, Co-Directors
Center for Research in Education and Social PolicyCRESPHenry May, Director
Center for Science, Ethics & Public PolicySEPPThomas M. Powers, Director
Center for Spintronics and BiodetectionCSBJohn Xiao, Director
Center for Study of Diversity>>James Jones, Director
Center for the Study of Pollutants in the EnvironmentCSPEDominic M. DiToro, Director
Center for Translational Cancer Research>>Robert A. Sikes, Director
Christina River Basin Critical Zone Observatory>>Anthony Aufdenkampe, Lead-PI
Computer Architecture & Parallel Systems LabCPSLGuang R. Gao, Director
Delaware Asteroseismic Research CenterDARCJudi Provencal, Director
Delaware Biotechnology InstituteDBIKelvin H. Lee, Director
Center for Cardiovascular HealthCHSDavid G. Edwards, Director
Delaware Center for TransportationDCTArdeshir Faghri, Director
Delaware Design InstituteDDIJanet Hethorn, Director
Delaware Education Research & Development CenterDERDCJoan L. Buttram, Director
Delaware Environmental InstituteDENINDonald Sparks, Director
Delaware Geological SurveyDGSDavid R. Wunsch, Director
Delaware Rehabilitation InstituteDRIThomas Buchanan, Director
Delaware Sea Grant College Program>>James Falk, Acting Director
Delaware Space Grant ProgramDESGCDermott J. Mullan, Director
Delaware Water Resources CenterDWRCJ. Thomas Sims, Director
Disaster Research CenterDRCJames Kendra, Director
Early Learning CenterELCPeggy Bradley, Director
Elbert N. and Ann V. Carvel Research & Education Center>>Michelle Rogers, Director
Exelon Trading Center>>&nsbp;
Lerner College Trading CenterLCTCRich Jakotowicz, Manager
Gerard J. Mangone Center for Marine Policy>>Biliana Cicin-Sain, Director
Halophyte Biotechnology Center>>John L. Gallagher & Denise Seliskar, Co-Directors
Institute for Global StudiesIGSNancy Guerra, Director
Institute for Public AdministrationIPAJerome R. Lewis, Director
Institute for Transforming Undergraduate Education>>Deborah Allen & Jon Manon
Institute of Energy ConversionIEC William Shafarman, Interim Director
Institute for Financial AnalyticsIFSABitong Cheng
Institute of Soil and Environmental QualityISEQJ. Thomas Sims, Director
Interdisciplinary Humanities Research CenterIHRCAnn Ardis, Director
John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate GovernanceWCCGCharles M. Elson, Director
JP Morgan Chase Innovation CenterJPMCBruce Weber, Dean and Director, Lerner College
Laboratory PreschoolLPSCynthia Paris, Director
Nurse Managed Health CenterNMHCAllen Prettyman, Director
OCEANIC — The Ocean Information CenterOCEANICDoug White, Director
Small Business & Technology Development CenterSBTDCJ. Michael Bowman, Director
UD Nano Fabrication FacilityUDNFIulian Codreanu, Director
UD Professional Development Center for EducatorsPDCECarol Vukelich, Director
University of Delaware Botanic GardensUDBGJohn Frett, Director
University of Delaware Energy InstituteUDEI Dion Vlachos, Director
Water Resources AgencyWRAGerald J. Kauffman, Director
Mariott Center for Tourism and HospitalityHRIMWilliam Sullivan, Managing Director
Vita NovaVITA NOVAVenka Pyle, Director of Restaurant Operations