University of Delaware

Alumni to be honored

UD to honor six with Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement Awards


1:15 p.m., Sept. 18, 2012--Members of the University of Delaware community are invited to attend an awards ceremony and reception for the 2012 recipients of the Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement Award, beginning at 5:30 p.m., Friday, Oct. 19, in the Roselle Center for the Arts.

The award honors UD graduates of the last 20 years who exhibit great promise in their professional careers and/or public service activities.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

The 2012 recipients of the Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement are

  • Joseph Chen '92 AS, founder, chairman and chief executive officer, Renren, Inc., China.
  • Darryl P. Conway '93 HN, assistant athletic director, sports medicine, University of Maryland.
  • Andrew T. Hill '96 '97M '03PhD BE, economic educator adviser, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
  • Kirk Malloy '90M '93PhD CEOE, vice president, global customer service, Illumina, Inc., San Diego. Malloy will not be in attendance but will be recognized during the ceremony.
  • Taesha Mapp-Rivera '94 EG '00MBA, corporate program manager, DuPont Legal, Wilmington.
  • Karen A. Stout '82 '95EdD EH, president, Montgomery County (Pa.) Community College.

To register for the event, see the UD Homecoming website.

On Saturday, Oct. 20, the winners of the UD Alumni Association's Outstanding Alumni Award will be honored for their exemplary work on behalf of the University at both the President's Homecoming Luncheon and at halftime of the football game.

The winners are Claire M. DeMatteis, Class of 1987, and Terrance Bowman, Class of 1995. DeMatteis is a strong supporter of UD’s Center for Political Communication and served for two years as inaugural chair of the CPC’s Advisory Council. Bowman has been the acting president of the Black Alumni Organization for the last four years, and worked tirelessly to fundraise for the BAO’s endowed scholarship.

DeMatteis was nominated by Joseph Pika, interim associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Ralph Begleiter, director of the Center for Political Communication, and Bowman was nominated by Dave Morris of the Office of Annual Giving and Justine Talley-Beck of the Office of Alumni Relations.

Also recognized at the luncheon will be alumni who serve on the boards of the UD Alumni Association, the regional alumni clubs and the reunion class committees. The President's Homecoming Luncheon is by invitation only. For more information or if you have questions, email

Office of Alumni Relations

The Office of Alumni Relations is the chief liaison between the University and the worldwide alumni body of more than 151,000 living alumni represented by the UD Alumni Association.

Alumni Relations coordinates major events such as Alumni Weekend, Homecoming and prestigious awards. The office also manages all volunteers and events for the regional alumni clubs across the country and is charged with creating new and exciting programs while maintaining current traditions. For more information, visit

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792