AAUP honors

American Association of University Professors chapter announces awards


9:45 a.m., May 17, 2013--The University of Delaware chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP-UD) has announced the recipients of this year's Undergraduate Student Awards.

Each year, the AAUP presents awards to outstanding seniors who plan to attend graduate school in preparation for an academic career in university or college teaching or research. Students who have received the award have demonstrated outstanding academic work and exhibited a high level of involvement in campus life.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

The Undergraduate Student Award honors a student’s commitment to a career in teaching and research in higher education. This year’s recipients are:

Benjamin Hockman, a mechanical engineering major and Honors Program student. Since his sophomore year, Hockman has conducted research in the Comparative Robotics Laboratory under the direction of Herbert G. Tanner, associate professor of mechanical engineering. In that time, he has co-authored an article, “Emulating Poisson Emissions with a Pulsed Laser,” and presented at several national conferences. He will be attending Stanford University in the fall.

K. Michael Rowley, an exercise science and biological sciences major and dance minor. Rowley has been involved in research in the Biomechanics Laboratory under the advisement of James Richards, vice provost and Distinguished Professor of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology. As an undergraduate, Rowley has co-authored several articles and written a senior thesis investigating landing mechanics at a variety of ankle angles, a project that unites his interests in exercise science, dance and dance science research. He will be attending the University of Southern California in the fall.

Matthew White, a biochemistry major and Honors Program student. Since his sophomore year, White has studied under the direction of Charles Riordan, vice provost and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, in his inorganic chemistry laboratory and under the sponsorship of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He has been awarded the Elizabeth Dyer Award for Excellence in Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Frank Collins Undergraduate Award in Biochemistry.

“The AAUP-UD congratulates these outstanding students and looks forward to their continued success as scholars in the academic community,” a representative of the organization said.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
email: publicaffairs@udel.edu