University of Delaware

Diversity awards

President's Diversity Initiative sets nomination deadline for awards


10:52 a.m., March 4, 2013--The University of Delaware President’s Diversity Initiative has announced the deadline for several awards to be presented this spring. Complete information is available at the awards website

The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 22. Nominations should be submitted to the President’s Diversity Initiative, 109 Hullihen Hall, or to

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

Recipients will be honored at a luncheon during the spring semester.

The awards are as follows:

Louis Redding Award

The Louis L. Redding Diversity Award recognizes individuals or units at UD whose efforts have promoted, enhanced and implemented diversity programs or activities that have resulted in a significant change in the campus climate and composition within the University community. The award consists of a plaque and a $1,000 gift to the Morris Library in the recipient's honor.

E. Arthur Trabant Award for Women’s Equity

This award recognizes the late President Emeritus E. Arthur Trabant's support for women's equity at UD. The award is given annually to any individual, department, administrative unit, or committee that has contributed to equity for women at the University.

Student Ambassadors of Diversity Award

This award recognizes a student and an established student group for efforts to celebrate diversity on campus. The individual recipient will receive a scholarship valued at $400. Group recipients will receive $600 of funding for additional resources to utilize in pursuit of furthering diversity initiatives.

Bessie B. Collins Award

This award honors the former dean of women, Bessie B. Collins, an early advocate and supporter of continuing education for women. The award honors an adult woman student, thus recognizing the diversity and richness adult students bring to the University community. The recipient will receive a $500 award.

Mae Carter Scholarship

This award honors Mae Carter, former assistant provost for women's affairs and executive director of the Commission on the Status of Women. The award is given to an undergraduate woman student at the University who carries the values of supporting women that Mae Carter has represented to the University community. The recipient will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792