University of Delaware
André Walters, a UD alumnus now working with Bobcats Sports and Entertainment, addresses the Students of Distinction.

Students of Distinction

University honors African American, Latino students of distinction


10:20 a.m., Oct. 26, 2011--The University of Delaware Office of Equity and Inclusion hosted the Students of Distinction Awards Breakfast Oct. 15 at which President Patrick Harker and UD faculty and administrators honored African American and Latino undergraduate students.

The students’ families also accompanied them for this special occasion, with more than 125 people in attendance during UD Parents and Family Weekend.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

In previous years, Students of Distinction were awarded based on grade point average of 3.3 or higher.  However, this year’s Students of Distinction requirements were modified to a grade point average of 3.6 or higher.

Harker acknowledged that the breakfast was not only to celebrate the excellent achievements of the students but to also give thanks to the parents and families that supported their students' academic accomplishments.

The keynote speaker for the breakfast was UD alumnus André Walters, a 2002 graduate and senior director of legal affairs/team counsel for Bobcats Sports and Entertainment (BSE), which operates the NBA's Charlotte Bobcats.

Walters shared a story about his father’s never ending support and for reminding him to always stay in school.

Walters encouraged the students to never stop dreaming, saying, "If I can dream it, I can plan to achieve it."

He encouraged students to pick up their head and to always keep marching forward if they ever find themselves disappointed.  

Below is the list of students honored as Students of Distinction:

African American Students of Distinction

Janet Akinola, Randall Bailey, Darius Browne, Patrick Callaway, Lorna Coleman, Shani Craighead, Alexandra Davis, Ashley Debnam, Tracie Dixon-Stanley, Brooklynn Hitchens, Michael Johnson, Gwendylon Johnson, Cameron Jordan, Irene Marwa , Tara Mitchell, Michael Newman, Omagbe Obasi, Leonidah Okemwa, Marcel Okoli, Amira Parker, Brennan Robinson, Mary Sedrak and Michele Wallace.

Latino and Latina Students of Distinction

Evan Acuna, Andrew Agostini, Marisa Aneiros, Ellen Baca, Thomas Benitez, Marissa Broujos, Marcela Ciappi, Alyssa Colby, Milagros Chiri-Zapata, Cristina Cruz, Taryn Dasilva, Heiddy Digregorio, Omar Duran, Alexandra Ferreira, Courtney Ferreira, Margaret Galindo, Brielle Gerry, Christian Garcia-Rinkert, Brian Gonzalez, Audrey Hopkins Joseph Iannacci, Sarah Kasman, Jennifer Leal, Anna Lombardo, Mayra Lopez, Michelle Ma, Ashley Martinez, Barbara Martinez, Kyle McCormick, Lucy McCully, Cindy Melgoza, Tara Miskiewicz, Jacqueline Mizrachi, Angelica Montes, Alejandro Morales, Megan Munoz, Erica Negron, Ricardo Nieves, Marcela Omans, Brenda Palomo, Valentina Pilonieta, Daniel Reyes, Jennifer Rivera, Kathleen Ruiz, Jessica Santander, Edward Skolnick, Santiago Suarez, Nathaniel Taylor, Molly Torres , Alyssa Ulrich and Monica Vilacha.

Event organizers said students who were not able to attend the breakfast event will receive their certificates in the mail.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792