University of Delaware
Elizabeth Dyer Excellence in Teaching Awards were presented to (from left) Jia-Ming Lin, Christopher Suiter and Samantha Brannick.

Dyer awards

Three receive Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry's Dyer awards


8:37 a.m., March 8, 2012--The University of Delaware’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry has presented its 30th annual Elizabeth Dyer Excellence-in-Teaching Awards to graduate teaching assistants Samantha Brannick, Jia-Ming Lin and Christopher Suiter.

The awards, which honor graduate students who have been exemplary teaching assistants during the past academic year, were given by Svilen Bobev, associate professor in the department, on Feb. 29 during the Physical Chemistry Colloquium.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

Brannick received her bachelor’s degree from Muhlenberg College and is currently pursuing a doctorate working with Joseph Fox, professor. Brannick served as a teaching assistant in organic chemistry during fall 2010 and elementary bioorganic chemistry during spring 2011. 

Lin received his bachelor’s degree from National Chi Nan University and his master’s degree from National Sun Yat-sen University and is currently pursuing a doctorate with Andrew Teplyakov, professor. Lin served as a teaching assistant in Physical Chemistry Lab I during fall 2010 and Physical Chemistry Lab II during spring 2011. 

Suiter received his bachelor’s degree from West Virginia University and is currently pursuing a doctorate, working with Tatyana Polenova, professor. Suiter served as a teaching assistant in general chemistry during fall 2010 and general chemistry during spring 2011.

The Dyer Award honors the memory of the late Prof. Elizabeth Dyer, a member of the chemistry and biochemistry faculty from 1933-1971. The award has been given to outstanding teaching assistants since 1981.

Article by Andrea Muddiman

Photo by Evan Krape

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792