2011 Plastino Alumni Undergraduate Research Fellows

The 2011 (fifth) class of Alumni Undergraduate Research Fellows was introduced by Prof. Klaus Theopold, Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, at a dinner held at the Courtyard Marriott on May 4th. The AURF program has been funded, from its outset, by UD alumnus David A. Plastino (BS/CHEM/78), recently retired Senior Vice-President of the Swiss bank UBS, who was present, as the guest of honor, along with most of the Fellow's parents.

Pictured with Mr. Plastino are, left to right:

Photo Plastino Fellows

Elyssa Bernfeld, a sophomore biochemistry major from Melville, NY, who will carry out her research in the laboratory of Prof. Sharon Rozovsky Michael Ghidiu, a junior chemistry major from Bridgeton, NJ, whose research mentor will be Prof. Joel Rosenthal Justin Teesdale, a sophomore chemistry major from Stratford, NJ, who will also work in the laboratory of Prof. Rosenthal Shannon Owings, a sophomore environmental chemistry major from Eldersburg, MD, who will join the research group of Prof. George Luther Gregory Darone, a sophomore chemistry major who is working in the laboratory of Prof. Svilen Bobev.

Not pictured:

Jonathan Tomczak, a junior chemistry major from Medford, NJ, whose research mentor will be Prof. Brian Bahnson.

Derek Ahneman, a junior chemistry major from Stamford, CT, who was a member of the fourth class of Plastino Alumni Undergraduate Research Fellows, described his research results during the past year, while working in the laboratory of Prof. Donald Watson. Derek was recently selected as the recipient of an American Chemical Society Division of Organic Chemistry Summer Research Fellowship.

Mr. Plastino concluded the evening's program with some moving remarks concerning what we all can do for the common good with our financial resources that represent the difference between what we want and what we need.

— JB

Back to CBC News

Department News

Donald Watson Group Research Advance Iinspired by UD Nobel Prize Winner Richard Heck Details

Hilary Kerchner Wins ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship Details

Professor Karl Booksh Appointed Chair of ACS CWD and To The NSF Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering Details

Professor Sharon Rozovsky Receives EPSCoR Seed Grant Details

Mary Watson Receives NSF Early Career Development Award Details

Andrew Teplyakov To Receive ACS Delaware Section Award Details

Army scientist shields Soldiers from chemical agents Details


April 30, 2012 – 6th Annual John C. Wriston Memorial Lecture Details

May 11, 2012 – 9th Annual Richard F. Heck Lectureship Details

Currently accepting applications for the position of assistant professor Details

P&G looking for Postdocs and Ph.D. scientists in research and development. Details

Contact pmcmahon@udel.edu to post an announcement.


Campaign for University of Delaware
Send questions and comments to: Chemistry Webmaster
Need to announce something to the department? E-mail the Chemistry Webmaster
University of Delaware Home Page