VOLUME 22 #3

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Eric M. Furst, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and director of UD’s Center for Molecular and Engineering Thermodynamics, an Kristi L. Kiick, deputy dean of engineering and professor of materials science and engineering and of biomedical engineering, have been named to the 2014 Class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society. Fellows are nominated by their peers for outstanding accomplishments in scientific research, education and public service.

Tom Kaminski, professor of kinesiology and applied physiology and director of UD’s Athletic Training Education Program, has received the National Athletic Trainers’ Association’s 2014 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer award.

James Hiebert, Robert J. Barkley Professor of Education, has been selected to receive the Senior Scholar Award from the American Educational Research Association’s Special Interest Group for Research in Mathematics Education, in recognition of programmatic work that has been essential in mathematics education.

Anna Klintsova, associate professor of psychological and brain sciences, has been elected an officer of the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Study Group, a position that will transition over the next four years from secretary to president of the organization.

Babatunde A. Ogunnaike, dean of the College of Engineering and William L. Friend Chair of Chemical Engineering, has received the 2014 MAC Eminent Chemical Engineers Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ Minority Affairs Committee, recognizing outstanding chemical engineers for their role in fostering a diverse pool of talent in engineering and related disciplines.

Stephanie L. Kerschbaum, assistant professor of English, has received a 2014-15 American Association of University Women Postdoctoral Research Leave Fellowship, which recognizes and facilitates the impact of her work as a rising star in the field of disabilities studies, composition and rhetoric.

Three faculty members—Pamela Green, Unidel Crawford H. Greenewalt Endowed Chair in Plant Molecular Biology and a professor of marine science and policy; Blake Meyers, Edward F. and Elizabeth Goodman Rosenberg Professor of Plant and Soil Sciences; and Cathy Wu, Unidel Edward G. Jefferson Chair of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology—are among the world’s top scientists, according to the recently launched Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers list, a compilation of influential names in science that spotlights some of the “standout researchers of the last decade.” The researchers on the list earned the distinction by writing the greatest number of reports officially designated by Essential Science Indicators as Highly Cited Papers.

Burton Abrams, professor of economics, was honored with a silver Independent Publisher Book Award for his 2013 book, The Terrible 10: A Century of Economic Folly, published by The Independent Institute.

Cathy Ciolek, assistant professor of physical therapy and director of clinical education at UD, who is a specialist in geriatric physical therapy with an emphasis on balance, falls prevention and Parkinson’s disease, has received the Lucy Blair Service Award from the American Physical Therapy Association.

C.P. Huang, Donald C. Phillips Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, who is known worldwide for his work in environmental physical chemistry, was honored through a special symposium held in August by the American Chemical Society.

Lawrence Nees, professor of art history, was elected a 2014 fellow of the Medieval Academy of America, an interdisciplinary organization—the largest and oldest in the world dedicated to medieval studies—that limits the number of fellows to 125, recognizing those members who have made notable contributions to scholarship and professional service.

Adam Rome, the Unidel Helen Gouldner Chair for the Environment who holds joint appointments in English and history, has received a three-year appointment to the Organization of American Historians Distinguished Lectureship Program, a speakers bureau that promotes leading historians to various audiences across the country.

Dominic Di Toro, the Edward C. Davis Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering with a joint appointment in oceanography, who is known for his expertise in developing water quality standards and mathematical models of chemicals in water, has been appointed a member of the National Research Council’s Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology, the principal study unit on pollution problems affecting human health and the environment.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018