VOLUME 22 #1

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Charles G. Riordan and Harold (Hal) B. White III have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society, which selects fellows based on their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Riordan, vice provost for research and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was recognized for his “contributions to bioinorganic chemistry, particularly to the mechanistic chemistry of nickel-containing enzymes, and for dedicated service to UD.” White, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was elected for his work on “the development of problem-based learning in undergraduate science instruction and dissemination of active-learning pedagogy through workshops, publications and advocacy in professional organizations.”

Annette Giesecke, professor of ancient Greek and Roman studies, who has conducted extensive research on the meaning of gardens and the cultural clues buried in the remains of ancient gardens, has been named the Archaeological Institute of America’s Jashemski Lecturer for 2013-14, presenting lectures at a variety of universities.

Terry Papoutsakis, Eugene du Pont Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering who is affiliated with the Delaware Biotechnology Institute, has been selected to receive the Daniel I.C. Wang Award for excellence in biochemical engineering from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers Society for Biological Engineering, which cited his work in pioneering the genetic exploration of clostridia, anaerobic bacteria that are ubiquitous in soil and can cause infections in wounds.

Thomas H. Epps, III, the Gutshall Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was one of 30 early-career engineers nationwide invited to join 30 from Europe in discussing their leading-edge research at the 2013 European Union-United States Frontiers of Engineering Symposium held in Chantilly, France, in November.

Joel Rosenthal, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry whose work in renewable energy focuses on the use of solar energy to convert carbon dioxide into synthetic liquid fuels, has received a Dreyfus Postdoctoral Award in Environmental Chemistry.

Amanda Jansen, associate professor of education, received the 2014 Early Career Award from the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators, the largest professional organization devoted to the improvement of mathematics teacher education in grades K-12, in recognition of her distinguished contributions and exceptional potential for leadership in mathematics teacher education.

Dan Leathers, professor of geography and the Delaware state climatologist, has been elected president of the American Association of State Climatologists, a national organization with more than 100 members, including 47 state climatologists.

Norman Wagner, Alvin B. and Julia O. Stiles Professor of Chemical Engineering and a renowned expert in the area of colloidal suspension rheology, received the annual Thomas Baron Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Jennifer Biddle, assistant professor of marine biosciences, is traveling throughout the United States discussing deep-ocean drilling science and her work on microorganisms living deep within marine sediment, as a 2013-14 Distinguished Lecturer with the National Science Foundation’s U.S. Science Support Program.

Kenneth van Golen, associate professor of biological sciences and a senior research scientist at the Helen F. Graham Cancer Center at Christiana Hospital, delivered the 2013 Susan E. Donelan Hope for the Future Lecture at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, focusing on his research specialty of inflammatory breast cancer.

David Pong, professor emeritus of history and Asian studies, has been named Distinguished Asianist 2012 by the Mid-Atlantic Region of the Association for Asian Studies in recognition of excellence in scholarship and contributions to the profession.

Adrienne Lucas, assistant professor of economics whose research focuses on development economics, primarily on education and disease in sub-Saharan Africa, has achieved the 27th position among the top 100 young economists globally active since 2009, according to RePEc (Research Papers in Economics), an international index that ranks young economists through an analysis of research productivity.

Tsu-Wei Chou, the Pierre S. du Pont Chair of Engineering who has previously been honored as a World Fellow of composites and one of the top 100 materials scientists of the decade, has received the 2013 Nadai Medal from ASME.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018