VOLUME 21 #2

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Dawn Elliott, professor and director of UD’s biomedical engineering program, has been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows for her research on intervertebral disc degeneration, joining about 1,000 elite bioengineers who rank among the top 2 percent in their field. She was also recently named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Carla Guerrón Montero, associate professor of anthropology, has received a Prometeo Fellowship, a competitive flagship program of the government of Ecuador, to study nutritional anthropology in a rural community there with the ultimate goal of establishing policies to promote children’s health.

Three faculty experts were selected to join colleagues from around the world at the Salzburg Global Seminar in Austria this year to discuss solutions to global challenges. Matthew Weinert, associate professor of political science, participated as a Presidential Fellow in the June seminar “LGBT and Human Rights: New Challenges, Next Steps”; also a Presidential Fellow, Dawn Fallik, assistant professor of journalism, lectured and participated in discussions with journalism faculty and students at the Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change in July and August; and Carolee Polek, associate professor of nursing, received a UD fellowship to attend “The Drive for Universal Health Coverage: Ensuring Greater Access to High-Value Care” in December.

Donald L. Sparks, S. Hallock du Pont Chair in Soil and Environmental Chemistry, has been appointed chair of the U.S. National Committee for Soil Science, which advises the National Academies on issues related to soil science and is the formal representative of the U.S. soil science community to the International Union of Soil Sciences.

Millicent Sullivan, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, whose research addresses challenges in how medicines reach and enter misfunctioning cells and tissues, was one of 23 young investigators nationwide selected to present at the 2013 Georgia Tech Frontiers in Bioengineering Workshop, which brings together the world’s leading bioengineers to discuss cutting-edge research and long-term challenges.

James M. Brophy, Francis H. Squire Professor of History, has been awarded a senior fellowship by the Institute of Advanced Studies of Central European University, Budapest, Hungary, where he will be in residence from January to June 2014.

Lead researcher Anne Morris, professor of education, and other faculty members in the Mathematics Education Undergraduate Program for Elementary Teachers received the 2013 Wisniewski Teacher Education Award from the Society of Professors of Education for developing an innovative system that implements and encourages the use of research-based collaboratively developed lesson plans.

Doug Tallamy, professor of entomology and wildlife ecology and an expert and advocate for biodiversity in suburbia and home gardens and the use of native plants, received the Garden Club of America’s Margaret Douglas Medal for notable service to the cause of conservation education.

Janice Selekman, professor of nursing, received the 2013 Barbara A. Larson Humanitarian Award from the Society of Pediatric Nurses for her contributions to the field. She has spent her career teaching future nurses and has received numerous awards for her work in the field of school nursing.

John Rabolt, the Karl W. and Renate Böer Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Bruce Chase, a research professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, who co-developed the new technique Fourier Transform Raman spectroscopy, received the Innovation in Materials Characterization award from the Materials Research Society.

Alice Ba, associate professor of political science and international relations and director of UD’s Asian Studies Program, was selected to join a team of U.S. scholars who traveled to Japan to facilitate discussion and partnership between the two nations through the Invitation Program for U.S. Experts on Asian Affairs, launched by the Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnerships.

William Matthaeus, professor of physics and astronomy, has received a Fulbright specialist award to teach at the University of Buenos Aires, where he will instruct an intensive course this September on hydrodynamic and magneto-hydrodynamic turbulence for graduate students and will deliver a seminar for professors and teaching assistants.

Ann Eden Gibson, professor emerita of art history, was awarded the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum Research Center Book Prize for her 1997 book Abstract Expressionism: Other Politics, chosen for its significant contribution to shaping current thinking about the arts that did not necessarily receive recognition at the time of its publication.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018