VOLUME 19 #2

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Joyce Hill Stoner, Rosenberg Professor of Material Culture in the Department of Art Conservation and director of the Preservation Studies Doctoral Program, received the 2011 College Art Association-Heritage Preservation Joint Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation in recognition of her dedication to preserving the cultural heritage of the United States.

Frederick “Fritz” Nelson, professor of geography, who helped to establish the Circumpolar Active Layer Monitoring network to document changes in permafrost worldwide, has received the Francois Emile Matthes Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cryospheric Science from the Association of American Geographers.

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) has recognized two faculty members for exceptional career contributions to their fields. James T. Kirby Jr., Edward C. Davis Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, with a dual appointment in the College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment, received the 2011 John G. Moffatt-Frank E. Nichol Harbor and Coastal Engineering Award for his work in ocean wave mechanics and near shore hydrodynamics. Sue McNeil, professor of civil and environmental engineering, was awarded the ASCE Transportation and Development Institute’s 2011 Harland Bartholomew Award for her pioneering contributions to the redevelopment of brownfield sites and for infrastructure management education and research.

Jonathan Sharp, professor of oceanography, has received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Partnership for the Delaware Estuary, the first of its kind given by the partnership, honoring him for dedicating his career to the health of the estuary and citing his more than 30 publications specifically about the Delaware River and Bay system.

Kate Scantlebury, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and director of secondary teacher education programs in the College of Arts and Sciences, was elected to head the Research Division of the National Science Teachers Association, the largest science education organization in the world, whose members are science teachers at the elementary, secondary and college levels.

Tsu-Wei Chou, Pierre S. du Pont Chair of Engineering in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been named as one of the top 100 materials scientists of the past decade by Times Higher Education.

Jan H. Blits, professor of education, received the 2011 Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Academic Freedom Award, sponsored by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation and presented annually to an individual for promoting and defending academic freedom and individual liberties at institutions of higher learning.

Leonard Cimini, professor of electrical and computer engineering, recently was recognized for his pioneering work in wireless communications with two awards from IEEE, the world’s largest nonprofit association for the advancement of technology for humanity: the Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award for long-term leadership and service to the organization’s communications society and the Recognition Award from the IEEE Communication Society’s Technical Committee on Wireless Communications.

Biliana Cicin-Sain, professor and director of the Gerard J. Mangone Center for Marine Policy, has been named the 2010 laureate by the jury for the Elizabeth Haub Award for Environmental Diplomacy, which cited her “outstanding contributions to the international efforts to preserve the world’s oceans and the several international agreements related to them.”

Doug Tallamy, chairperson of the Department of Entomology and Wildlife Ecology, has received the gold Eddie Award from Folio magazine for his article “A Call for Backyard Biodiversity,” first published in American Forests. The award celebrates editorial and design excellence in the magazine industry.

Kelvin Lee, Gore Professor of Chemical Engineering and director of the Delaware Biotechnology Institute at UD, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of his “distinguished contributions to the development and application of proteomics technology to human health.”

Dr. Joseph Siebold, director of Student Health Services, received the Ollie B. Moten Award for Outstanding Service to One’s Institution from the American College Health Association, the principal leadership organization for the field of college health, with 900 member universities.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018