VOLUME 19 #1

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Cara Robinson, a doctoral student in the School of Public Policy and Administration, was one of eight students to receive the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award, an honor given by the Association of American Colleges and Universities to graduate students who show “exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education.”

Abraham M. Lenhoff, Allan P. Colburn Professor of Chemical Engineering, won the American Chemical Society’s 2011 Marvin J. Johnson Award for microbial and biochemical technology and delivered a lecture on his research at the society’s national meeting in March.

Iva Obrusnikova, assistant professor in the Department of Behavioral Health and Nutrition, was one of 11 candidates inducted as Research Consortium fellows of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance in March. She joins some 375 fellows in the consortium, a member group of scholars in areas related to human health and physical activity.

Gary Simon of the Small Business and Technology Development Center has earned technology certification from America’s Small Business Development Centers (ASBDC), becoming one of only 39 certified technology advisers in the U.S. The center, a partnership that includes UD’s Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships, is one of seven programs in the country to receive the ASBDC network’s technology designation.

Anne S. Robinson, professor of chemical engineering, has been selected to be a member of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows. The appointment recognizes Robinson as a leader in the medical and bioengineering community and places her among the top 2 percent of her peers.

Martin Brueckner, associate professor of English, has been named the 2011 Research Fellow at the Social and Cultural Institute at Mainz University in Germany, where he will spend the month of June. His project, “The Object of Maps in America,” will examine “the relationship of material culture, cartography and communication in the context of the Atlantic world between 1700 and 1900,” he says.

Lori Pollock, professor of computer and information sciences, has been selected as a “distinguished scientist” by the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, in recognition of significant accomplishments or impact in the field as an educator, engineer or scientist.

Xiang Gao, internationally recognized violinist and professor of music, has been granted the position of ZiJiang Professor of Music by East China Normal University, the highest honor offered to a visiting professor. He will perform and teach there for up to two months a year over the next four years.

Siobhan Ruane, a graduate student in stage management in the Professional Theatre Training Program (PTTP), received the U.S. Institute for Theatre Technology’s 2011 Stage Management Award, for demonstrating excellence in the field while pursuing a graduate degree. Previous recipients of the award include PTTP alumni John Gruber and Brian Newman, who received the honor in 2004 and 2001, respectively.

C.P. Huang, Donald C. Phillips Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, was honored by former students during a career retrospective workshop held in the fall in Taichung, Taiwan. The event, sponsored by the National Chiao Tung University and the National Chung Hsing University, paid tribute to his achievements in aquatic chemistry and his passion for mentoring students.

Allison Burris Castellanos, a member of the University Board of Trustees who is an educator and longtime advocate for the Latino-Latina community in southern Delaware, was among three people presented 2010 Hola Awards for their extraordinary character and achievements in helping strengthen the Hispanic community.

A team from the University’s IEEE student chapter competed in IEEEXtreme, a 24-hour computer programming competition, in the fall, finishing in the top 10th percentile in the world and claiming the eastern U.S. regional championship. Members of the team were Eric McGraw, Will Girten and Stephen Orlando, all undergraduates in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The competition, which drew 1,000 teams from some 350 universities worldwide, marked the first such appearance for the UD chapter.

Xiao-Hai Yan, Mary A. S. Lighthipe Professor of Oceanography, was a guest at the January welcome ceremony and reception hosted by President Barack Obama at the White House to honor visiting Chinese President Hu Jintao. Yan directs the Center for Remote Sensing at UD and has been instrumental in forging academic and research ties with Xiamen University, where he holds an honorary distinguished scholar title.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018