VOLUME 18 #3

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

Stanley I. Sandler, Henry Belin du Pont Chair of Chemical Engineering, was presented the Properties and Phase Equilibrium for Process and Product Design (PPEPPD) Eminence Award during the International PPEPPD Meeting in Suzhou, China. It was the first such award given in the 37-year history of the meeting.

Michael Gamel-McCormick, professor of human development and family studies and associate director of UD’s Center for Disabilities Studies, was chosen as the 2010-11 Joseph P. Kennedy Jr. Foundation fellow in public policy. He is working with the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions.

Krzysztof Szalewicz, professor of physics, astronomy and chemistry, has been elected to membership in the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science, an elite group of top researchers from around the world, including several Nobel Prize winners.

Hui Fang, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been selected to participate in the prestigious HP Labs Innovation Research Program, where she will work on a research initiative focused on improving the quality of enterprise searches through integrated information and collaborative activities.

David Suisman, associate professor of history, won the Business History Conference’s annual Hagley Prize, awarded to the best new book in business history, for his pioneering study Selling Sounds: The Commercial Revolution in American Music.

Donald Sparks, S. Hallock du Pont Chair in Plant and Soil Sciences and director of the Delaware Environmental Institute, received the Liebig Award from the International Union of Soil Sciences for outstanding contributions in soil science research. The award has been given only once before by the society, which was founded in 1924.

L. Rebecca Johnson Melvin, librarian in the Special Collections Department of the UD Library, was awarded the Waldo Gifford Leland Award by the Society of American Archivists for An American Political Archives Reader. She is co-editor of the book, which provides guidance on congressional papers collections, and co-authored a chapter.

Burt Abrams, professor of economics, held a visiting professorship at Shandong Economic University in Shandong, China, in the spring, teaching a graduate course in banking, macroeconomics and the current U.S. financial crisis. He also was a guest lecturer at Beijing Institute of Technology.

Richard P. Wool, professor of chemical engineering and director of UD’s Affordable Composites from Renewable Sources program, is a 2011 recipient of the American Chemical Society award for affordable green chemistry. His research will be highlighted at a symposium held in his honor at the society’s national meeting.

Juliette Tolay, a doctoral student in political science and international relations, won the 2010 Sakip Sabanci International Research Awards competition for her work on cultural diversity and immigration in Turkey. The award, sponsored by Sabanci University in Istanbul, is the most prestigious honor granted in the field of social sciences in Turkey.

Charles Elson, Edgar S. Woolard Jr. Chair and director of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance, and Roger Coffin, associate director of the center, were named in the National Association of Corporate Directors’ annual “Directorship 100,” a who’s who of the most influential corporate governance professionals in the nation.

Camille Jones, a graduate student in plant and soil sciences, has been awarded a prestigious STAR Graduate Fellowship from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The STAR (Science to Achieve Results) program is the only federally funded, nationally competitive graduate fellowship focusing specifically on environmental research.

Michael Middaugh, associate provost for institutional effectiveness, received the Association for Institutional Research Outstanding Service Award, which recognizes members or former members who have made extraordinary and sustained contributions to the association for a period of at least five years.

Gabe Fife, a graduate student in athletic training who is researching concussions that occur in taekwondo, has been awarded a grant from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Research and Education Foundation, which provides funds for “exceptional” research projects conducted by graduate students.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018