VOLUME 17 #1

current cover


Alumni Association President Shante Hastings

Martin Brückner, associate professor of English with a joint appointment in material culture studies, has received two prestigious national grants to work on his book, The Social Life of Maps in Early America: a National Endowment for the Humanities grant for research and a fellowship from the Program in Early American Economy and Society at the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Thomas S. Buchanan, professor of mechanical engineering and deputy dean in the College of Engineering, has been elected a fellow of two professional societies, the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and the American Congress of Sports Medicine.

Five faculty in the College of Human Services, Education and Public Policy have been selected as presidents or presidents-elect of professional organizations: Jeffrey A. Raffel, C. P. Messick Professor of Public Administration, National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration; Steven M. Eidelman, H. Rodney Sharp Professor of Human Services Policy and Leadership, American Association for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities; Leslie J. Cooks, associate professor of education, American Evaluation Association; Michael Gamel-McCormick, professor and interim college dean, Association of University Centers for Disabilities; and Kathleen M. Minke, professor and acting director, School of Education, National School Psychologists Association.

The American Institute of Chemical Engineers has named Mark Barteau and the late Arthur Metzner to its list of “100 Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era.” Barteau is the Robert L. Pigford Chair of Chemical Engineering, director of the UD Energy Institute and senior vice provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives. Metzner was H. Fletcher Brown Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering at the time of his death in 2006. Metzner also was honored recently by the Society of Rheology, which established a prestigious award for young rheologists in his name. The institute also named the late Allan Colburn and Robert Pigford, both former faculty members, among the "50 Chemical Engineers of the Foundation Age."

Xiang-Gen Xia, Charles Black Evans Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been named an IEEE Fellow for his contributions to signal processing for digital communications.

Mary Ann McLane, professor in the departments of medical technology and biological sciences, is president-elect of the American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science, representing more than 10,000 clinical lab professionals in the United States.

Thomas H. Epps III, assistant professor of chemical engineering, and Erik Thostenson, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, are among just 39 scientists and engineers throughout the country selected to receive three-year research grants from the U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Research Program. UD was one of just six universities to receive two of the awards.

Martinus Nijhoff Publishers celebrated the 90th birthday of Gerard J. Mangone, University Research Professor of International and Maritime Law, in October by establishing an annual prize in his name to be awarded to the author of the best contribution published in the International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law.

Frank Murray, H. Rodney Sharp Professor of Education, is one of about 300 inaugural fellows of the American Educational Research Association, which established the fellows program to recognize outstanding accomplishments in education research and to emphasize the importance of sustained research contributions. At various times, Murray has served as editor for two of the association’s journals and regularly presents his research at the organization’s annual meetings.

Abraham Lenhoff, Gore Professor of Chemical Engineering, has been selected to receive the 2009 American Chemical Society Award in Separations Science and Technology, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments in fundamental or applied research. Lenhoff’s work in this area focuses on separation of proteins, which has applications in the pharmaceutical and biomedical industries.

Yan Jin, professor of soil physics, has been named a fellow of the Soil Science Society of America, the highest recognition bestowed by the society on selected members. Jin is known for her research in the measurement, modeling and interpretation of contaminant fate and transport in porous media.

Cecil Dybowski, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was named a fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy for his 30-plus years of scholarship in the field of spectroscopy and its applications.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018