University of Delaware undergraduates won five first-place awards at a regional research symposium in chemistry and biology.

Successful student research

UD undergraduates earn recognition at regional research symposium


9:17 a.m., Nov. 7, 2014--Nineteen undergraduate science students from the University of Delaware presented their research on Oct. 25 at the 17th annual Undergraduate Research Symposium in the Chemical and Biological Sciences, a competition that drew nearly 250 students from 14 states.

UD students competed in 18 of the 36 groupings at the symposium, held at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, and received five first-place and four second-place awards.

Research Stories

Chronic wounds

UD's Millicent Sullivan and Kristi Kiick have received a $1.4 million grant from the National Institutes of Health for research that could provide a new approach to the treatment of chronic wounds.

Prof. Heck's legacy

The American Chemical Society is highlighting the legacy of the late Nobel laureate Richard Heck, the Willis F. Harrington Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at the University of Delaware with a digital tribute on its publications website.

The students' attendance at the symposium was sponsored by the University's Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Undergraduate Science Education Program.

“This continues a tradition of excellence established by UD students at this competition” over the past several years, said Hal White, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and director of the HHMI program at UD.

White and five other faculty members — David Usher, professor, Gary Laverty, associate professor, and Carlton Cooper, assistant professor, all of biological sciences; Jacqueline Fajardo, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry; and Angelia Seyfferth, assistant professor of plant and soil sciences — accompanied the students.

Seyfferth was a student participant and award winner at the 2002 symposium, when she was an undergraduate at Towson University.

First-place winners, their categories and faculty supervisors are:

Hannah Anderson, Biological Sciences Group B, Deni Galileo

Matthew Fischer, Biological Sciences U, Erica Selva

Thomas Keane, Chemical Sciences Y, Joel Rosenthal

Molly Peters, Biological Sciences E, E. Fidelma Boyd

Becky Pollack, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology EE, Patricia Martin-DeLeon

Second-place awards went to:

Gabriel Gregorzak, Chemical Sciences DD, Mark Baillie, Alenka Hlousek-Radojcic and Fajardo

Brooke Palus, Biological Sciences D, Selva

Jay Subramoney, Biological Sciences N, Sharon Rozovsky

Hanna Wastyk, Biological Sciences A, for work done at Dartmouth

Also presenting at the symposium:

Jackie Clarizio, supervised by Hlousek-Radojcic, Fajardo and Baillie

Andre Freligh, supervised by John Jungck

Lauren Genova, supervised by Catherin Leimkuhler Grimes

Kelli Kearns, supervised by Seyfferth

Jasmin Philip, supervised by Rozovsky

Tom Rivas, supervised by Grimes and Brian Bahnson

Troy Rubenstein, supervised by Melinda Duncan

Dominic Santoleri, supervised by Rozovsky

June Teichmann, supervised by Kali Kniel

Sarah Yannarell, supervised by Julia Maresca

Photo courtesy of Hal White

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792