YoUDee mingles with guests at the 12th annual YoUDee Leadership Awards ceremony.

YoUDee Awards

University Student Centers host 12th annual YoUDee Leadership Awards


8:49 a.m., May 16, 2014--The University Student Centers (USC) at the University of Delaware hosted the 12th annual YoUDee Leadership Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 15, in the Trabant University Center’s Multipurpose Room in recognition of outstanding efforts on campus.

Awards presented at this year’s ceremony celebrated exemplary University of Delaware student leaders, groups and events, as well as a variety of achievements through the Bernie Coslar Award for Service and the Grossman Memorial Award for dedication to campus-wide co-curricular programming.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

The 2014 YoUDee Award winners are:

Bernie Coslar Award: Karen Sunkler

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sharon Harris

Grossman Memorial Award: Jessica Borcky, Tyler Sharp, Corey Ellsesser

Outstanding Greek Adviser: Barbara Hurt-Simmons, Gamma Phi Beta

Outstanding RSO Adviser: Diane Rudolphi, Student Nurses Organization

Outstanding Greek Photo: Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI)

Outstanding RSO Photo: Alpha Phi Omega Co-Ed Service Fraternity

Outstanding Greek Website/Social Media: Delta Gamma

Outstanding RSO Website/Social Media: Student Centers Programming Advisory Board

Outstanding Use of Student Central: UDance Marathon

Outstanding Greek Community Service: Sigma Kappa

Outstanding RSO Community Service: Honors Engaging in Neighborhood Service

Outstanding Greek Philanthropy: Lambda Chi Alpha

RSO Philanthrophy Award: Gamma Sigma Sigma

Outstanding New Greek Organization: Alpha Sigma Phi

Outstanding New RSO: Video Game Tournament Club

Oustanding Greek programs

Outstanding Cultural Greek Program: Alpha Phi Alpha, Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Outstanding Health and Wellness Greek Program: Chi Upsilon Sigma, Lambda Pi Chi, Alpha Phi Alpha

Outstanding Greek Alumni Engagement: Sigma Nu

Outstanding Greek Community Engagement: Sigma Phi Epsilon

Outstanding Greek Risk Management Program: Sigma Pi

Oustanding RSO programs

Outstanding Cultural RSO Program: Cultural Programming Advisory Board, Black Student Union, Multicultural Greek Congress, Alpha Kappa Alpha

Outstanding Performing Arts RSO Program: E-52 Student Theatre, RSA, V-Day

Outstanding Large Scale RSO Program: Greek Council

Outstanding Global RSO Program: International Justice Mission, SCPAB

Outstanding RSO Lecture: Panhellenic Council, Delta Gamma

Outstanding Educational RSO Program: Public Relations Student Society of America

Outstanding New RSO Program: Student Centers Programming Advisory Board

Outstanding Annual RSO Program: UDress Magazine

Outstanding New RSO Program: Yes U Can Extension, Interfraternity Council, SCPAB

Outstanding Recreational RSO Program: Zumba Club, Lambda Pi Chi

Outstanding Greek Treasurer: Katelyn Swift, Kappa Alpha Theta

Outstanding RSO Treasurer: Jessie Teixeira, UDance Marathon

Greek CAP | Sororities: Sigma Alpha Iota, Alpha Delta Pi

Greek CAP | Fraternities: Delta Tau Delta

Overall Greek achievement

Outstanding Overall IFC Achievement: Sigma Phi Epsilon

Outstanding Overall MGC Achievement: Alpha Kappa Alpha

Outstanding Overall NPC Achievement: Delta Gamma

Outstanding Overall SIG Achievement: Sigma Alpha Iota

Overall RSO achievement:

Outstanding RSO Commitment to their Mission: Greek Council

Outstanding RSO Campus Impact: UDance

Outstanding RSO Overall Achievement: Vocal Point

Oustanding Greek female leaders

Outstanding Greek Chapter Female Leader: Frantasia Rouse, Alpha Kappa Alpha

Outstanding Greek Community Female Leader: Megan O'Brien, Delta Gamma

Outstanding Greek GPA Female Leader: Rachel Loya, Alpha Epsilon Phi

Oustanding Greek male leaders

Outstanding Greek Chapter Male Leader: James Cirone, Sigma Phi Epsilon

Outstanding Greek Community Male Leader: Kye Cho, Lambda Chi Alpha

Outstanding Greek GPA Male Leader: Morgan Frees, Alpha Kappa Psi

Oustanding RSO female leaders

Outstanding Delawarean Female: Shannon Chin, Misfits, The

Outstanding GPA Female: Rebecca Radisic, Animal Science Club

Outstanding President Female: Taylor Jayne, Student Centers Programming Advisory Board

Outstanding Overall Female: Madinah Wilson, Muslim Student Association

Oustanding RSO male leaders

Outstanding GPA Male: James Leitner, Humanitarian Hospitality Society

Outstanding Overall Male: Joe Tilleli, Student Centers Programming Advisory Board

Outstanding President Male: Jonathan Smith, Vocal Point

Outstanding Delawarean Male: Sterling Vaughan, Multicultural Greek Congress at UD

Article and photos by Casey Impagliazzo

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792