Faculty promotions

Trustees approve promotions for 42 faculty members


6:46 p.m., May 13, 2014--The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved promotions of 42 faculty members at its spring meeting May 13. All are effective with the 2014-15 academic year.

Sixteen faculty members were promoted to professor with tenure, one was promoted to professor without tenure, 21 to associate professor with tenure, and four to associate professor without tenure. 

People Stories

'Resilience Engineering'

The University of Delaware's Nii Attoh-Okine recently published a new book with Cambridge University Press, "Resilience Engineering: Models and Analysis."

Reviresco June run

UD ROTC cadets will run from New York City to Miami this month to raise awareness about veterans' affairs.

Promoted to professor were Eric Benson, Haiqiang Chen and Kalmia Kniel, all animal and food sciences; William Farquhar, kinesiology and applied physiology; John Gizis, physics and astronomy; Thomas Hanson and Mark Warner, both marine science and policy; Julie Hubbard, psychology; Sandy Isenstadt and Lauren Petersen, both art history; James Kendra, School of Public Policy and Administration; Mark Mirotznik, electrical and computer engineering; Adam Rome, history; Michael Shay, physics and astronomy; John David Smith, music; and Steve Tague, theatre.  

Beth Morling in psychology was promoted to professor without tenure.

Named associate professor with tenure were James Angelini and Dannagal Young, both communication; Wayne Batchis, political science and international relations; David Burris, mechanical engineering; Benjamin Carterette, computer and information sciences; Sebastian Cioaba and Yvonne Ou, both mathematical sciences; Amy Griffin, psychology; Samuel Lee and Darcy Reisman, both physical therapy; Xiaoxia Lou, finance; Holly Michael, geological sciences; Anja Nohe and Donna Woulfe, both biological sciences; Matthew Oliver, marine science and policy; Ramnarayan Rawat, history; Seth Shabo, philosophy; Amy Shober, plant and soil sciences; Wendy Smith, business administration; Miranda Wilson, English; and Ryan Zurakowski, electrical and computer engineering.

Promoted to associate professor without tenure were James Atlas, computer and information sciences; Jill Flynn and Michael McCamley, both English; and William Lewis, School of Education. 

For more on the Board of Trustees meeting, click here.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
email: publicaffairs@udel.edu