The Independent Publisher Book Awards has honored Burton Abrams, professor of economics, with the silver award for "The Terrible 10: A Century of Economic Folly."

IPPY award

Lerner College's Abrams wins silver book award for 'Terrible 10'


9:13 a.m., May 29, 2014--Burton Abrams, professor of economics in the University of Delaware’s Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics, was honored with a silver Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) for his book, The Terrible 10: A Century of Economic Folly, at an awards ceremony in New York City, Wednesday, May 28.

He received a medal and certificate for the honor, which recognizes authors and publishers worldwide who produce books in English intended for the North American market. About 2,000 publishers participate in the awards each year from across the country, Canada and English-speaking countries overseas.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

“I was surprised to receive the award and didn’t even know the book was nominated,” said Abrams. “The book is actually a culmination of 40 years of teaching experience in a variety of courses studying government policies so I’m proud to be a recipient.”

The book, which is published by The Independent Institute, highlights that despite impressive gains in the U.S. economy in the 20th century, the reality is that Americans were the victims of disastrous government policies that cost trillions of dollars in wasted resources, created mass unemployment and kept millions of people in poverty who otherwise would have participated in the nation’s growing prosperity. 

“Bad economic policies are not a monopoly of any one political party and the 10 I feature in the book are evenly split between Democrats and Republicans,” said Abrams, who dissects 10 economic blunders of the past century and provides key lessons to help avoiding such policy mistakes in the future in the book.

Abrams’ award was in the finance/investment/economics category, which also recognized Ronald J. Ryan’s The U.S. Pension Crisis (The Leading Press) and Donna Skeels Cygan’s The Joy of Financial Security (Sage Future Press).

In addition to the IPPY, Abrams also received an honorable mention in the business category of the 2014 Eric Hoffer Award for Short Prose and Independent Books for The Terrible 10.

Article by Kathryn Meier

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792