CANR alumni honors

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources to honor seven graduates


3:54 p.m., Oct. 18, 2012--Seven graduates of the University of Delaware College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (CANR) will be honored for their professional achievements at the college’s Distinguished Alumni ceremony to be held on Friday, Oct. 19, as part of UD’s Homecoming festivities.

The CANR Distinguished Alumni Awards are given based on a clear record of outstanding career accomplishments, service and leadership to the profession, and community service, including service to UD.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

The 2012 CANR Distinguished Alumni are: 

Bruce Cobb, a 1984 graduate, is the founder and owner of ARC Greenhouses in Shiloh, N.J., where he markets microgreens, herbs and lettuce under the Mr. McGregor brand name. In 2002, ARC entered a joint venture with Phytomedics to develop protocols to grow pharmaceutically important plants, which ARC now does at a facility in Florida.

Carol Long, a 1990 graduate, is the associate curator of Gardens at Winterthur Museum and Country Estate, where she began as a horticulturalist 18 years ago, overseeing a 60-acre historic garden created by H.F. du Pont. She has served on the boards of the UD Botanic Gardens, Goodstay Gardens, UD Alumni Association, and UD Agricultural Alumni Association.

Daral Jackwood, a 1978 graduate, is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Preventative Medicine at the Ohio State University. He is an internationally recognized avian virologist for his work on economically important diseases, primarily infectious bursal disease virus. 

Mark Jackwood, a 1978 graduate who received a master’s degree in 1982, is a professor and the department head of the Department of Population Health in the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia.  His primary area of research is the molecular biology of avian coronaviruses; he is an authority on infectious bronchitis virus. 

The 2012 Distinguished Young Alumni are:

Jennifer McEntire, a 1999 graduate, is a senior director for food and import safety at Leavitt Partners LLC in Washington, D.C. Upon receiving her doctoral degree from Rutgers University, McEntire has been working to bridge interactions among groups involved in food safety regulations, recently focusing on trace back of product recalls and client responsibilities. 

Jennifer Walls, a 2001 graduate, is a principal planner with the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division of Watershed Stewardship, Watershed Assessment and Management Section, where she works on a variety of science-based projects related to sustainability. Walls is also active in the U.S. Coast Guard Reserves and teaches as an adjunct instructor at Delaware Technical Community College. 

In addition, the George M. Worrilow Award will be presented to Ronald Ritter, a 1975 graduate. Ritter is a faculty member at the University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources where he has a research and extension appointment in the area of weed science.

The award, named for the dean of the college from 1954-65, has presented by the UD Agricultural Alumni Association annually since 1970. It is awarded to graduates of the college who have exhibited outstanding service to agriculture. 

Photos of the event will be available on the CANR Flickr site.

Article by Katy O’Connell

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792