YoUDee congratulates winners of 2011 YoUDee Leadership Awards, sponsored by University Student Centers.

Campus leaders recognized

Ninth annual YoUDee Leadership Awards ceremony held


11:18 a.m., May 23, 2011--Leaders in the University of Delaware campus community were honored by University Student Centers during the ninth annual YoUDee Leadership Awards ceremony held May 12 in the Trabant University Center.

Student Centers offers a variety of awards recognizing outstanding leadership, programming, scholarship and volunteerism to individuals, registered student organizations, and fraternities and sororities.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

Following are this year's YoUDee Award winners:

Bernie Coslar Service Award: Jim Grimes, Public Safety

Lifetime Achievement Award: John Warren, director of Custodial Services and Pest Control

Outstanding RSO Adviser: Andrea Everard (Gamma Sigma Sigma)

Best New RSO: Lori’s Hands and Students for Haiti

Best RSO Photo: Uganda Untold

Best Greek Chapter Photo: Alpha Xi Delta 

Best RSO Website:  Public Relations Student Society of America

Best Greek Chapter Website: Alpha Delta Pi

Outstanding RSO Social Media Use: WVUD and SGA

Outstanding Greek Chapter Social Media Use: Alpha Delta Pi

RSO Community Service: Lori’s Hands

RSO Philanthropy: UDance Marathon

Greek Community Service: Alpha Delta Pi

Greek Philanthropy: Lambda Pi Chi

Greek Chapter Small Scale Program: Alpha Kappa Alpha for Cooking 101

Greek Chapter Large Scale Program: Delta Gamma for Finding Kind

Outstanding RSO New Program: Chocolate -- Chocolate Fest

RSO Outstanding Co-Sponsored Program: Greenfest, sponsored by Students for the Environment, SGA, RSA, Gamma Sigma Sigma, and Financial Management Association, and National Eating Disorder Awareness Week, sponsored by NEDAC, SCPAB, Haven, IFC, Panhellenic Council, Greek Council, DRDC, and Dark Arts 

RSO Path to Prominence Program: Show and Tell -- NSBE

RSO Diversity Program: Black Student Union’s Museum on Wheels

RSO Large Scale Program: SCPAB’s Jason Mraz

RSO Overall Program: Haven -- U Are Not Alone

Highest IFC Fraternity GPA: Alpha Epsilon Pi

Highest Panhellenic Sorority GPA: Alpha Xi Delta

Highest NPHC Chapter GPA: Alpha Phi Alpha

Highest NALFO Chapter GPA: Lambda Pi Chi

Highest Special Interest Greek Chapter GPA: Alpha Zeta

Grossman Memorial Award:  Lauren McAloon and Dan Cole

Greek Community Leader: Tyler Hespe (Greek Council)

Overall Male Greek Chapter Leader: Shakir McLean (Alpha Phi Alpha)

Outstanding Male Greek GPA Leader: Kevin Flammia (Kappa Alpha)

Overall Female Greek Chapter Leader: Jacqueline Rodrigues (Alpha Delta Pi)

Outstanding Female Greek GPA Leader: Eloise Potterfield (Kappa Alpha Theta)

Outstanding RSO Treasurer:  Justin Conrad

RSO Overall Male Leader:  Brian Traylor (NSBE)

RSO Delaware Male Leader: Steve Weick (IFC)

RSO Outstanding GPA Male Leader: Shane Marks ( 3.8, Society of Automotive Engineers)

RSO Overall Female Leader: Michelle Ingari (WVUD)

RSO Delaware Leader: Grace Bennett (SGA)

RSO Outstanding GPA Female Leader: Ali DeMedeiros (Haven)

IFC Chapter of the Year: Lambda Chi Alpha

NPHC Chapter of the Year: Alpha Phi Alpha

NPC Chapter of the Year: Chi Omega

NALFO Chapter of the Year: Lambda Pi Chi

Special Interest Chapter of the Year: Phi Sigma Pi

RSO Overall Achievement: Making Doctors

Photos by Kevin Quinlan

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792