Blits receives academic freedom award
Jan H. Blits receives the Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Academic Freedom Award.
Jan H. Blits with the award.


UDaily is produced by Communications and Marketing
The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792

8:52 a.m., Feb. 17, 2011----Jan H. Blits, professor in the University of Delaware School of Education and University Honors Program, is this year's recipient of the Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Academic Freedom Award, sponsored by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation.

Email E-mail
Delicious Print

This award is presented annually to an individual for promoting and defending academic freedom and individual liberties at institutions of higher learning in the U.S.

“I have been active on campus for many years, advocating the rights of our faculty and students. It is a great honor to receive this award. I'm very gratified by the recognition,” says Blits.

Previous winners of the Academic Freedom Award are Gene Genovese, Steven Balch and Alan Kors.

Blits was presented with the award, which included a $10,000 prize, at the annual Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in Washington, D.C., Feb. 10-12.

Article by Alison Burris