Matthew King (left) and Michael Brister receive honorable mention and first prize, respectively, for their research posters in the competition sponsored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB).

Students present at national conference

HHMI program sponsors undergraduate researchers at national conference


3:48 p.m., April 15, 2011--Eleven University of Delaware undergraduates attended the annual Experimental Biology Meetings, held April 9-13 in Washington, D.C. 

The EB2011 conference with its six sponsoring societies attracted more than 10,000 scientists from around the world and included presentations by Nobel laureates and other distinguished research scientists.

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

The trip was sponsored and organized by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Undergraduate Science Education Program at the University. Accompanying the group were four faculty members: Hal White, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and director of the HHMI Program; David Usher, professor of biological sciences and assistant director of the HHMI Program; Gary Laverty, associate professor of biological sciences, and Seung Hong, assistant professor of biological sciences

In addition to presenting their research posters in the regular scientific sessions, 10 of the students also participated in the 15th Undergraduate Poster Competitions sponsored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) and one in a poster competition sponsored by the American Association of Anatomists. 

Since 2001, University of Delaware undergraduates have received more awards in the ASBMB competition than students from any other college or university.

This year, a UD biochemistry junior, Michael Brister, brought home one of the four top awards in the ASBMB poster competition. His first prize in the Proteins and Enzymes Division was for work he has done in the laboratory of Neal Zondlo, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry. 

Matthew King, a senior biology major working with Melinda Duncan (professor of biological sciences), received one of four Honorable Mentions in his division. (Only first prizes and honorable mentions are awarded in this competition.)

Other students who attended the meetings were Cory Bovenzi, Erica Boetefuer, Jean Huynh, Soma Jobbagy, Dylan Lowe, Tejal Naik, Victoria Roop, Ashley Shay and Robert Sheehan.

In addition to HHMI funding, Jobaggy was supported by a Beckman Scholar grant. Brister and Shay received undergraduate travel awards from ASBMB.

For details on UD participation, see the HHMI website.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792