UD Standard Web header

Jeanne K. Buxbaum Scholarship

A scholarship or assistantship presented to a nursing student (graduate and/or undergraduate) who has demonstrated academic excellence (minimum of 3.0 GPA) and a sincere interest in older adults with vision and other sensory impairments or adults with sensory impairments.

Jeanne Kitenplon Buxbaum, Ph.D., 1915-2003

Jeanne Buxbaum

Scientist, Scholar, Benefactor

Dr. Jeanne K. Buxbaum earned B.S. (1938) and Ph.D. (1941) degrees in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology School of Science and an M.B.A. (1974) from the University of Delaware . She was the first Ph.D.-prepared woman chemist employed by DuPont Company, where she worked until her retirement in the late 1980s. She was married to Edwin Buxbaum, Ph.D., an organic chemist and anthropologist, who predeceased Jeanne. They had no children together.

Dr. Buxbaum was a member of Sigma Xi (science honorary society), Beta Gamma Sigma (business administration honorary society), and the Association of Chemical Engineers. She was co-inventor on a patent issued in Canada to DuPont Company for a dye dispersion process. She was an avid gardener and passionate about classical music.

At age 87, Dr. Buxbaum was frail and had lost her sight due to macular degeneration; she was cared for by professional nurses until her death. She left a large portion of her estate to the University of Delaware , establishing the Jeanne K. Buxbaum Scholarships for undergraduate and graduate students in Nursing and the Jeanne K. Buxbaum Chair of Nursing Science – all of which are focused on aging, specifically those aspects of aging associated with frailty in late life, such as sensory losses.

Profile of Buxbaum Scholars

Buxbaum Scholars

Dr. Rempusheski and Buxbaum Scholars attend
2008 Friends of the National Institute of Nursing
Research Gala in Washington, D.C, October 1, 2008:
Pictured (L to R) at McDowell Hall are Lindsay
Zaleski, Carolyn Ziminski, Dr. Rempusheski, Jessica
Page, and Hannah Draper before leaving for the Gala.

Graduate Student
Buxbaum Scholars

Katherine Price

Danielle Chellappoo

Hannah Draper

Michelle A. Kennedy

Lisa Marie Davidson

Kelly Leedy

Sangeetha Karunanithi

Ann Marie Gamble

Emily Banning

Matthew Koterwas

Marissa Adams

Buxbaum Scholars

Dr. Rempusheski and the 2007-08 Buxbaum
Scholars attended the 17th Annual Research
Conference, sponsored by the Delaware Nurses
Association, Committee on Nursing Research and the
Beta Xi, Omicrom Gamma, and Tau Beta Chapters of
Sigma Theta Tau International, at Wilmington College
Dover Campus, on September 7, 2007. Left to right
are:Dr. Veronica Rempusheski, Danielle Chellappoo,
Matthew Koterwas, Jessica Page, and Carolyn

Undergraduate Student Buxbaum Scholars

Carolyn Ziminski

Mathew Koterwas

Jessica Page

Lindsay Zaleski

Jessica Carter
Lisa J. Fox

Zoey Call
Ashley Martinez

Audrey Arcuri

Marissa Alligood Merson

Brittany Drazich

Megan Hagen
Lindsay James

Danielle Jacoby
Rita-Rae Schaeffer
Delaney White

Rachael L. Cooper
Julia Pohlman
Kearstin Raby

Natalie Roddy
Angela Gonzalez
Paulina Renda
Audrey McGowan
Julie Harlam

Jeanne K. Buxbaum Endowment Legacy Plaque Unveiling Ceremony – May 2015

Plaque Unveiling

Photo by Duane Perry

Dr. Veronica Rempusheski, Jeanne K. Buxbaum Chair of Nursing Science and Dr. W. Wayne Surles, Endowment Trustee, gather with 13 former and current Buxbaum scholars to celebrate the unveiling of the Jeanne K. Buxbaum Endowment Legacy plaque at Daugherty Hall on May 1, 2015.

CHS Honors Day - October 2012

2012 Buxbaum Scholars

Standing left to right: Dean Matt, Buxbaum Scholars Delaney White, Rita-Rae Schaeffer, Danielle Jacoby, Sangeetha Karunanithi, and Dr. Rempusheski

  • College of Health Sciences  •   School of Nursing  •   25 North College  •   Newark, DE 19716
    Phone: 302-831-1253   •   Fax: 302-831-2382  •  ud-nursing@udel.edu   •  © 2014
    Comments   |    Contact Us    |    Legal Notices