Trustees approve new mission statement, new degree program with Thomas Jefferson University
Howard Cosgrove (left), chairman of the Board of Trustees, presents a special resolution to John A. Krol, thanking him for his service to the board.
2:51 p.m., May 21, 2008--The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved a new UD mission statement during its semiannual meeting May 19 at the Trabant University Center.

The new mission statement, which goes into effect July 1, reflects changes at the University over the past 15 years, including significant development as a graduate and research institution.

The board also approved an agreement between the University and Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia for the creation of a new degree program that will offer a bachelor of science degree and a doctor of pharmacy degree from the two institutions.

Students completing the program, which begins in fall 2008, will receive a bachelor of science degree in biology from UD and a doctorate in pharmacy from Thomas Jefferson University. Under the agreement, students will spend the first three years at UD's Newark campus, followed by four years of graduate pharmacy coursework at the Jefferson College of Health Professions at Thomas Jefferson University.

In other action, the board approved resolutions that:

  • Increased residence hall rates by an average of 8 percent beginning with the fall semester, with the cost for a traditional double room increasing by $380 to $5,128;
  • Increased dining plan rates by an average of 4.7 percent, beginning with the fall semester, with the 19-meals-per-week plan increasing by $150 to $3,350;
  • Increased the Student Health Service fee by $13 per semester to $233, by $3 to $62 for Winter Session; and by $5 to $84 for summer sessions, all beginning June 1;
  • Increased the Comprehensive Fee by $12 per semester to $90, and increased the Student Center Fee by $3 per semester to $110, both effective July 1;
  • Unanimously approved implementation of an enhanced Residence Life Education Program for 2008-09, confirming the overwhelming vote in favor by the Faculty Senate on May 12;
  • Authorized the administration to proceed with construction projects at Smith Hall and the Carpenter Sports Building, subject to available sources of funds; and
  • Granted permanent status to the bachelor of science degree in information systems and the master of science degree in information systems and technology management; and
  • Approved the transfer of the Department of Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Management from the College of Human Services, Education and Public Policy to the Lerner College of Business and Economics, effective July 1.

The board also approved the Honorary Degree Class of 2008, which includes:

  • Cal Ripken Jr., the Hall of Fame baseball player who broke Lou Gehrig's record for consecutive games played;
  • Charles M. Cawley, former president and chief executive officer of MBNA Corp.;
  • David and Louise Roselle, who led the University of Delaware from 1990-2007;
  • Stephanie Kwolek, whose research in synthetic fibers served as the basis for the development of Kevlar;
  • E. Wayne Craven, H.F. du Pont Professor Emeritus of Art History at the University; and
  • U.S. Sen. Olympia Snowe of Maine;

In addition, Hiram Lasher was approved to receive the UD Medal of Distinction.

The board also expressed gratitude to several benefactors:

  • Emalea Warner Trentman, a friend of UD and granddaughter of Emalea Pusey Warner, after whom Warner Hall on the UD campus is named, for an endowment of $301,341 to fund the Emalea Warner Trentman Scholarship and the Emalea Warner Trentman Public Horticulture Endowment;
  • The late Caroline K. Keck, whose endowment of $123,515 funded the Paul Coreman Fellowship in Art Conservation;
  • The late Ernest A. Mettenet Jr., whose endowment of $100,000 will be used to fund the Ernest A. Mettenet '49 Endowed Scholarship in Engineering; and
  • Dorothy Munroe, who, with her sister Katheryne Levis McCormick, became the University's first women undergraduate students in chemistry, and has been a generous supporter of UD for more than 60 years, has made a commitment of $1 million and a gift of $100,000 to support the John and Dorothy Munroe Endowed Chair in the Department of History. The Board elected officers for the 2008-09 year: Howard Cosgrove, chairman; Robert A. Fischer Jr., vice chairman; A. Gilchrist Sparks III, vice chairman; and Carey M. Koppenhaver, secretary-treasurer.

John A. Krol, who concluded his term on the board, was honored with a special resolution, thanking him for "sincere and thoughtful counsel to the president and administrative officers of the University and to the Board of Trustees."

In addition, the board authorized President Patrick Harker to confer degrees at the University's 159th Commencement exercises on May 31.

Photo by Kathy F. Atkinson