#### Lecture 16

## Democracy in the Eye of the Beholder

#### 0. Intro

- Trying to overcome the three "batsu": monbatsu, hanbatsu, gunbatsu
- Democracy for whom?

Reference: "Political Structure of Imperial Japan" on Handouts web page

Documents (ER): Yoshino Sakuzô's "Minpon Shugi," "Peace Preservation Law"

"Sôdômei's Declaration," "Lamentations of Female Factory Workers"

### 1. Toward "Taishô Democracy"

- a. Constitutional limitations to participatory democracy
  - Itô Hirobumi & Saionji Kinmochi and the Seiyûkai
- b. *Genrô* power and *hanbatsu* politics
  - Yamagata Aritomo & Katsura Tarô and the Kensei hontô (--> Dôshikai)
- c. The height of party government
  - · Hara Kei as Prime Minister

# 2. Theories of liberal democracy

a. Yoshino Sakuzô and *minponshugi* 

### 3. Toward proletarian democracy and class struggle

- a. Socialist and labor
  - Socialist Democratic Party (Kôtoku Shûsui and others, 1901)
  - Japan Socialist Party (Katayama Sen & Nishikawa Kôjirô, 1906)
- b. The "winter of socialism" (post-High Treason Incident, 1911-)
- c. Rice Riots (1918)
- d. Japan Communist Party (1922)
- e. Universal male suffrage and Peace Preservation Law in 1925