VOLUME 23 #2

Current cover
View interactive pdf


Chemistry professor receives University’s highest faculty honor

OUR FACULTY | Chemistry and biochemistry professor Cecil Dybowski has received the 2015 Francis Alison Faculty Award, the University of Delaware’s highest competitive faculty honor.

The award was established in 1978 by the Board of Trustees to recognize the faculty members who best demonstrate the scholarship and teaching exemplified by the Rev. Francis Alison, founder of the institution that is now UD.

A member of the faculty since 1976, Dybowski is internationally known for his work in nuclear magnetic resonance—a field that is “one of the most complex and at the same time the most informative techniques available to science, technology and medicine,” said Andrew Teplyakov, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, who nominated his colleague for the Alison Award.

Throughout his career, Dybowski has received numerous professional accolades, published roughly 200 scientific papers, and mentored scores of students in his research program, from undergraduates to postdoctoral associates.

“What strikes me most is the true dedication of Prof. Dybowski to being a scholar in the highest possible interpretation of this word—both as a teacher and as a student of science,” Teplyakov said.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018