VOLUME 20 #3

current cover

click here to view pdf



Honors & Achievements

David Farber, known to many as “the grandfather of the Internet” and a Distinguished Policy Fellow in UD’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been named to the board of trustees of The Internet Society, a nonprofit organization founded in 1992 to provide leadership in Internet-related standards, education and policy.

Alan Fox, professor of philosophy, was one of two recipients of a two-year National Teaching Fellowship awarded by the American Association of Philosophy Teachers to develop a project that will advance the teaching of philosophy.

Guido Geerts, professor of accounting and management information systems, received the 2012 Outstanding Contribution to Research Award from the Strategic and Emerging Technologies Section of the American Accounting Association, recognizing a scholar whose research has an impact on the field and shows originality and innovation.

Tricia Wachtendorf, associate director of UD’s Disaster Research Center and associate professor of sociology, was an invited expert at this year’s American Red Cross Day at the White House, where she discussed her field research focusing on the coordination among organizations in disasters.

Samuel Gaertner, professor of psychology and a recognized expert on discrimination and prejudice, received the 2012 Career Contribution Award from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology, which recognizes “senior scholars who have pioneered new directions of research.”

Jack Gelb Jr., professor and chair of the Department of Animal and Food Sciences, who conducts research on the avian infectious bronchitis virus, received the 2012 Bruce W. Calnek Applied Poultry Research Achievement Award, presented by the American Association of Avian Pathologists in recognition of outstanding research contributions resulting in a measurable and practical impact on the control of important poultry diseases.

Robert Gilbert, Unidel Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences, was awarded an honorary doctorate from Tbilisi State University’s I. Vekua Institute of Applied Mathematics. Also this year, in celebration of his 80th birthday, the journals Complex Variables and Elliptic Equations and Mathematical Methods in the Applied Sciences dedicated issues to his legacy and career.

Robert Opila, professor of materials science and engineering with joint appointments in chemistry and biochemistry and in electrical and computer engineering, has been awarded a 2012-13 Fulbright Scholarship to teach and conduct research at Bilkent University in Ankara, Turkey, where he will develop and teach an original course in solid state materials and renewable energy.

Maria Aristigueta, professor and director of the School of Public Policy and Administration, was named a Fulbright Specialist for the University of Salerno in Italy, where she spent part of fall semester teaching graduate coursework in organizational behavior and performance management and conducting comparative research.

Michael J. Axe, M.D., clinical professor of physical therapy, received the 2012 Robert E. Leach “Mr. Sports Medicine Award” from the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine in recognition of his significant contributions to the field.

Pam Cook, associate dean of engineering and professor of mathematical sciences, has been named the 2012 University Change Agent by the Women in Engineering ProActive Network for her efforts to improve the representation of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.

Donald L. Sparks, S. Hallock du Pont Chair in Soil and Environmental Chemistry and director of the Delaware Environmental Institute, was one of six scientists this year elected honorary members of the International Union of Soil Sciences, the highest honor awarded by the professional society, representing 50,000 scientists.

John Courtright, professor of communication, has been named editor of Human Communication Research, a journal of the International Communication Association, where he is planning to add such innovations as video introductions by authors of articles appearing in the journal’s online edition.

Wilfred Chen, Gore Professor of Chemical Engineering, received the 2012 Biotechnology Progress Award for Excellence in Biological Engineering Publication from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to literature.

  • University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA   •   Phone: (302) 831-2792   •   © 2018