University of Delaware

Student leaders

UD to host conference of state's Jefferson Awards student leaders


8:56 a.m., Nov. 16, 2012--More than 150 Jefferson Awards student leaders from Delaware will attend the sixth annual Students in Action Leadership Conference to be held Saturday, Nov. 17, in Gore Hall on the University of Delaware campus in Newark.

The conference is the culmination of a semester partnership with the University’s organizational and community leadership major and the Lead 490 Capstone Class under the direction of Karen Stein, associate professor in the School of Public Policy and Administration

Campus Stories

From graduates, faculty

As it neared time for the processional to open the University of Delaware Commencement ceremonies, graduating students and faculty members shared their feelings about what the event means to them.

Doctoral hooding

It was a day of triumph, cheers and collective relief as more than 160 students from 21 nations participated in the University of Delaware's Doctoral Hooding Convocation held Friday morning on The Green.

This year’s Leadership Olympics has been designed, and will be facilitated, by 11 members of Stein’s capstone class with over 15 high schools from around the state of Delaware participating. The students attending make up the Student in Action leadership teams in their respective schools.

The goal of the conference is to challenge the student leaders and develop leadership, communication and problem solving skills while building cross-cultural bonds and preparing them for active, contributing roles in their communities.

The students will participate in a series of workshops aimed to assist them in leading an action oriented volunteer service culture in their school while sharpening their leadership skills.

The keynote speaker will be Philip Dulebohn, a pair skater who has competed in the World Championships, U.S. Championships and Winter Olympics with partner Tiffany Scott. The pair won a gold medal in the 2003 U.S. Figure Skating Championships.

He and Scott ended their partnership in 2005 and Dulebohn now coaches Scott and her new partner, Rusty Fein.

The participating schools are Alexis I. du Pont, Caravel Academy, Charter School of Wilmington, Dover, Glasgow, McKean, Newark, Padua Academy, Salesianum, St. Elizabeth, Sussex Technical, Tatnall, Tower Hill, Ursuline Academy and William Penn.

For more information, visit the website.

About the Jefferson Awards

In 1972, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Sen. Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard co-founded the Jefferson Awards to create a prize for public service in America. For more than 40 years, the Jefferson Awards has recognized the highest levels of excellence in community and national service. The Jefferson Awards is now focusing on activating and training the next generation of Americans who will go on to become Jefferson Awards winners.

About Students in Action

Students in Action (SIA) was created in partnership with Deloitte with the aggressive goal of helping to double volunteerism in America’s high schools. The strategy is to create Jefferson Awards youth leadership teams in each high school that celebrate great volunteers, inspire others to get involved and help raise additional resources to expand volunteer activities in the areas of need. Students in Action is currently operating in over 325 high schools nationwide and in 13 regions: Chicago, Delaware, Central Florida, Indianapolis, Memphis, Minneapolis-St. Paul, New Jersey, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, the San Francisco Bay Area, Savannah, South Carolina and Toledo.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792