University of Delaware

Learning assessment grants

CTAL awards 17 grants to promote teaching, learning at UD


8:47 a.m., June 21, 2013--The University of Delaware Center for Teaching and Assessment of Learning has awarded 17 instructional improvement grants to promote teaching and learning that advance UD’s teaching mission and give greater visibility to innovation in higher education.

Faculty curriculum development grants totaling $116,348 have been awarded to:

Campus Stories

From graduates, faculty

As it neared time for the processional to open the University of Delaware Commencement ceremonies, graduating students and faculty members shared their feelings about what the event means to them.

Doctoral hooding

It was a day of triumph, cheers and collective relief as more than 160 students from 21 nations participated in the University of Delaware's Doctoral Hooding Convocation held Friday morning on The Green.

• Deborah Bieler, associate professor, Deborah Alvarez, associate professor, and Jill Ewing Flynn, assistant professor, all of the Department of English, and William Lewis, assistant professor of literacy education, of the School of Education, for "A Community-Based Junior Methods Block in English Education;"

• Julie Bruck, associate professor of plant and soil sciences, Jonathan Cox, assistant professor of art, and Tony Middlebrooks, associate professor in the School of Public Policy and Administration, for "Design Process Practicum: Developing Design Thinking and Extending Classroom Boundaries through Interdisciplinary Curriculum Design;" 

• Jinfa Cai, professor, Bettyann Daley, assistant professor, Georgia Pyrros, instructor, and Lou Rossi, professor, all of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, for "Reforming Pre-calculus and Calculus A: An Integrated Approach;"

• Timothy Deschriver, associate professor, and Gerald Oravitz, instructor, both of sport management in the Department of Business Administration, for "Development of Student Professional Presentation Portfolios/Websites for Sport Management Undergraduate Majors;"

• Kara Ellerby, assistant professor and David Wilson, associate professor, both of the Department of Political Science and International Relations, for "Gateways to Understanding and Analyzing Diversity;"

• Gabrielle Foreman, Ned B. Allen Professor of English and professor of Black American studies, and Collette Gaiter, associate professor of art, for "Colored Conventions Digital Humanities;"

• Paul Head, professor of music, for "Choral Music Program;"

• Muqtedar Khan, associate professor of political science and international relations, for "Faith, Mysticism, and Good Government;"

• Elizabeth Pemberton, assistant professor in the School of Education, and Lynnette Overby, professor of theatre, for "Preparing Pre-Service Teachers to Use Arts Integration to Motivate and Teach K-12 Students in the Core Academic Disciplines of Science, Math, English, Social Studies and the Arts;"

• Tammy Rossi and Patricia Schwarzkopf, both instructors in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, for "Flipping the Introductory Math Classroom;" and 

• Tammi Rossi, instructor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, for "Implementation, Impact and Value of Instructional Assistants in a Flipped Math Classroom."

Travel grants totaling $5,817 have been awarded to: 

• Kelly Cobb, associate professor of fashion and apparel design, to attend the International Textile and Apparel Association conference in Honolulu, Hawaii;

• Theodore Davis, associate professor of political science and international relations, to attend the Institute for Research on Poverty's Teaching Poverty 101 Workshop in Madison, Wis.;

• Tracey Holden, assistant professor of communication, to attend the Eastern Communication Association's Biannual Basic Course Conference and Convention in Pittsburgh, Pa.;

• Robert Ketcham, laboratory coordinator in the Department of Biological Sciences, to attend the annual conference of the Association for Biology Laboratory Educators in San Diego, Calif.; and 

• Carissa Wickens, assistant professor of food and animal sciences, to attend the 2013 Equine Science Society Symposium in Mescalero, N.M.

This year, the program introduced a third category of “instructional improvement awards,” academic program grants designated for academic deans, chairs or academic program directors to conduct educational projects that involve an entire academic unit or address educational issues that cross-cut multiple units. 

The first of these grants, for $33, 816, was awarded to John Pelesko, chair and professor of mathematical sciences, with Jinfa Cai, professor, and Michelle Cirillo, assistant professor, also of mathematical sciences, for "Aligning Secondary Mathematics Teacher Education Programs with the Common Core."

The next call for grant proposals is expected in the fall semester. Interested parties should contact Deborah Allen at or 831-2027. 

For more information, visit the CTAL website

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792