University of Delaware

National search

Provost search committee named


2:30 p.m., July 12, 2012--A search committee to find the next University of Delaware provost has been appointed, UD President Patrick Harker announced today. 

The committee, chaired by George Watson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, will conduct a national search to identify the best individual to become the University's next chief academic officer. Its members include top faculty members from every college, as well as representatives of the Board of Trustees, administration and undergraduate and graduate students.

Campus Stories

From graduates, faculty

As it neared time for the processional to open the University of Delaware Commencement ceremonies, graduating students and faculty members shared their feelings about what the event means to them.

Doctoral hooding

It was a day of triumph, cheers and collective relief as more than 160 students from 21 nations participated in the University of Delaware's Doctoral Hooding Convocation held Friday morning on The Green.

"A dynamic, responsive, visionary provost is absolutely critical to sustaining UD's academic excellence and growing national prominence," Harker said. "I thank the search committee for its service in identifying candidates who will advance our goals and move the University forward." 

Nancy Brickhouse is currently serving as interim provost after Tom Apple resigned in June to become chancellor at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.  

Members of the committee in addition to Watson are Michelle Barineau, president of the Student Government Association; Emily Bonistall, president of the Graduate Student Senate; Stuart Binder-Macleod, Edward L. Ratledge Professor and chairperson of the Department of Physical Therapy; Jim Borel, a member of UD's Board of Trustees; Fred DeMicco, ARAMARK Professor of Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Management; Domenic DiToro, Edward C. Davis Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Thomas Epps, III, Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Xiang Gao, Trustees Distinguished Professor of Music; Michael Gilbert, vice president of student life; Carol Henderson, chairperson of the Department of Black American Studies and professor of English; George Luther, Maxwell P. and Mildred H. Harrington Professor of Oceanography; Kathy Matt, dean of the College of Health Sciences; Anna Papafragou, associate professor of psychology; Sheldon Pollack, president of the Faculty Senate and professor of accounting and management information systems and of legal studies; Donald Sparks, S. Hallock du Pont Chair in Soil and Environmental Chemistry and director of the Delaware Environmental Institute; and Carol Vukelich, Bruce L. Hammonds Professor in Teacher Education and director of the Center for Teacher Education.  

The provost is responsible for the administration of all programs of instruction, research and service and for facilitating the success of the University's faculty and students.  Reporting to the provost are the deans of the seven colleges, the deputy provost, the senior vice provost for research, the vice provost for libraries, the vice president for student life and the vice provost for graduate and professional education. 

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792