University of Delaware

Women's Caucus

UD Women's Caucus elects new board members


2:27 p.m., April 24, 2013--Members of the University of Delaware Women’s Caucus elected five new members to the board at the spring general meeting on Thursday, April 11, bringing the total number of board members to 16.  

New to the board are Robin Andreasen, associate professor of linguistics and cognitive science; Sandy August, assistant director for reunions and classes in the Office of Alumni Relations; Heather Doty, assistant professor of engineering; Karren Helsel-Spry, administrative assistant for the Faculty Senate; and Patricia Sloane-White, associate professor of anthropology. Each of the new board members will serve a two-year term. 

FYI Stories

June 6: UDid It! Picnic

All UD faculty and staff members are invited to attend the annual UDid It! employee appreciation picnic, set from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m., Monday, June 6, on The Green.

2FA protects you

If you are using two-factor authentication (2FA), even if a hacker has your password, your information is probably safe.

At its first board meeting, held Thursday, April 18, the board members elected officers: 

• Marcia Nickle, emergency preparedness manager, who recently served as the Women’s Caucus chair/co-chair, was elected as the board’s secretary;

• Christine Scheirer, associate director in the Office of Alumni Relations, was elected as the new co-chair and will lead the caucus in conjunction with acting co-chair, Rebecca Davis, associate professor of history; and

• Debbie Hill Kirwan, director of administration for Development and Alumni Relations, was re-elected as treasurer. 

Nickle, Scheirer, Davis and Kirwan have all been involved with the Women’s Caucus since its inception in 2011.

Serving on the Women’s Caucus Board of Directors, in addition to the new members and officers, are

Gretchen Bauer, chairperson and professor of political science and international relations;

Megan Gaffney, senior assistant librarian;  

Christine Grott, business administrator in the Department of Sociology;

Helga Huntley, assistant professor in the School of Marine Science and Policy;

Stephanie Kerschbaum, assistant professor of English;

Shannon Lennon-Edwards, assistant professor of behavioral health and nutrition; and

Sue Stewart, administrative assistant in the Office of Alumni Relations.

The Women’s Caucus will hold its second annual spring social event, open to the entire University community, from 4-6 p.m., Tuesday, May 14, at Bayard Sharp Hall. The Torch Award, given annually to a woman who has “carried the torch for women's equality,” will be presented during a short ceremony at the event. In 2012, the award was presented to Anne M. Boylan, professor of history. This year the honoree is Mae Carter, one of the founders of the Commission on the Status of Women and of women’s studies at UD. The event includes heavy hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar.

About the Women’s Caucus

The mission of the Women’s Caucus is to advocate for positive change on issues of concern to women at the University of Delaware. All faculty and staff of the University who identify as women are considered to be members of the Women’s Caucus. For more information, visit the website or email

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792