## Symposium on the 2011 Nobel Prizes

## **The Nobel Prize**

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was established. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award of about \$1.5 million.

To celebrate the achievements of all the Nobel Prize Laureates for 2011, the College of Arts and Sciences presents a two-day symposium of talks by prominent UD faculty who will discuss the research and careers of the newly minted Laureates.

Lunch will be served before the presentations.

Sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences



# Friday, October 21, 2011 • Noon Roselle Center for the Arts • Gore Recital Hall

12 – 12:30 рм • Lunch

12:30 – 12:40 рм • Introduction

George Watson, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

## 12:40 – 1:10 рм • Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Awarded to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann "for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity" and to Ralph M. Steinman "for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity"

**Catherine Grimes,** Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

#### 1:10 – 1:40 PM • Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Awarded to Dan Shechtman "for the discovery of quasicrystals"

Doug Buttrey, Professor, Chemical Engineering

#### 1:40 - 2:10 PM • Nobel Prize in Literature

Awarded to Tomas Tranströmer "because, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality"

Jeanne Walker, Professor, English

### Friday, October 28, 2011 • Noon Roselle Center for the Arts • Gore Recital Hall

12 - 12:30 PM • Lunch

12:30 – 12:40 PM • Introduction

Doug Doren, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

#### 12:40 – 1:10 рм • Nobel Peace Prize

Awarded to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work"

**Kara Ellerby,** Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and International Relations

# 1:10 – 1:40 рм • Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Awarded to Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims "for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"

Stacie Beck, Associate Professor, Economics

#### 1:40 - 2:10 PM • Nobel Prize in Physics

Awarded to Saul Perlmutter, Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess "for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae"

John Gizis, Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy