University of Delaware
A UD professor and students took first place in television news programming in the 2011 Delaware Press Association contest for their work "The Quiet Riot: Apathy and Activism."

Communications winners

University projects win Delaware Press Association awards


2:12 p.m., April 24, 2012--University of Delaware projects spanning the print, broadcast and social media won awards in the annual communications competition of the Delaware Press Association. (DPA). The winners will be honored at DPA’s annual awards banquet, Thursday, May 3, at the University and Whist Club in Wilmington.

“It’s great to see so many University of Delaware projects recognized in the Delaware Press Association’s annual contest,” said David Brond, vice president for communications and marketing. “I congratulate the winners on their achievements and encourage them to continue to ‘Dare to be first.’”

Honors Stories

National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama recently presented the National Medal of Science to University of Delaware alumnus Rakesh Jain.

Warren Award

Rosalind Johnson, assistant dean for student success in the NUCLEUS Program in UD's College of Arts and Sciences, was presented the John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award during a May 26 ceremony.

Lydia Timmins, assistant professor of communication, and her students in the COMM 425 news documentary course won first place in the television special programming category for The Quiet Riot: Apathy and Activism. The documentary explores the perception of college students as apathetic and party-crazy — and helps to disprove this widely believed myth. The winning team included Alexander Albanese, Kerry Camacho, Tanesha Campbell, Andy Giron, Meagan Maudsley, Kerry Miles, Tony Minervini, Jen Rini, Lyndsey Wallen and Jacob Weil.

Other UD awardees included:

  • From Agricultural Communications — Adam Thomas, communications specialist.
  • From the Marine Public Education Office — Tamara Beeson, graphic designer II; Elizabeth Boyle, former production coordinator; Kimberly Doucette, administrative assistant; Ron Ohrel, director; and Lisa Tossey, former outreach specialist.
  • From the Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service — Chris Petrone, education specialist; and Wendy Carey, coastal processes specialist. 
  • From the College of Health Sciences — Diane Kukich, communications specialist.
  • From the Office of the Provost — Margaret Andersen, associate provost for academic affairs.
  • From the Office of Communications and Marketing — David Barczak, senior art director; Laura Blagys, former intern; John Brennan, director of public and media relations; David Brond, vice president for communications and marketing; Tracey Bryant, associate director for research, graduate and global communications; Meredith Chapman, senior news editor; Molly Chappell, senior art director; Jeffrey Chase, senior art director; Evan Krape, web developer/photographer; Corin Larraga, web developer II; Ann Manser, senior editorial coordinator; Nan Mulqueen, speechwriter/senior editor; Sarah Rosenthal, art director; Neil Thomas, senior associate director; and Daniel Wright, art director. 

First-place honors went to:

Second-place honors went to:

  • Barczak, Krape, Neil Thomas, Andersen and Brond for the University of Delaware Authors website in the category of web development/creation: not-for-profit or educational organization sites.
  • Beeson for the 2011 Coast Day poster in the category of single-sheet poster.
  • Chapman, Rosenthal and Blagys for “Dare to explore” in the category of social media campaign – not for profit, government or educational organization. 
  • Mulqueen for “The Obligation of Global Citizenship” in the speeches category.
  • Tossey, Beeson and Petrone for the Coast Day showcase exhibit (Cannon Room 104) in the category of community or institutional relations.
  • Tossey, Petrone and Carey for Perigean spring high tide and coastal storm effects time lapse video in the category of audiovisuals — video productions.

Third-place honors went to: 

Honorable mention went to:

  • Boyle, Tossey, Ohrel and Doucette for SeaTalk public service announcements in the category of radio single commercial or campaign built around one subject.
  • Manser and Chappell for University of Delaware Messenger in the four-color magazine category.

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Communications and Public Affairs

UDaily is produced by
Communications and Public Affairs

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792