Lenhoff wins ACS biotechnology award
Abraham Lenhoff


UDaily is produced by Communications and Marketing
The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
email: ocm@udel.edu

9:30 a.m., Jan. 12, 2011----Abraham M. Lenhoff, Allan P. Colburn Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Delaware, has won the American Chemical Society's (ACS) 2011 Marvin J. Johnson Award for microbial and biochemical technology.

Email E-mail
Delicious Print

Presented by the ACS Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT), this honor recognizes Lenhoff's “scholarly contributions to understanding and manipulating protein behavior in bioseparations by merging biophysical and colloidal methods with chemical engineering analysis and synthesis,” according to Anne Robinson, UD professor of chemical engineering and ACS BIOT awards chair.

Lenhoff will accept the award at the ACS 241st national meeting in Anaheim, Calif., March 27-31, where he will also deliver the Johnson Award Lecture on his research.

Richard P. Wool, professor of chemical engineering and director of UD's Affordable Composites from Renewable Research (ACRES) program, will also be honored for his work in affordable green chemistry.

ACS established the Johnson award in 1978. It is supported by Pfizer, Inc.

In 2009, Lenhoff was similarly honored with the ACS award in Separations Science and Technology and the Alan S. Michaels Award for the Recovery of Biological Products from ACS BIOT.

Article by Karen B. Roberts