Cicin-Sain named laureate for Haub Award for Environmental Diplomacy
Biliana Cicin-Sain


UDaily is produced by Communications and Marketing
The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792

12:59 p.m., Feb. 10, 2011----Biliana Cicin-Sain, professor and director of the Gerard J. Mangone Center for Marine Policy at the University of Delaware, has been named the 2010 laureate by the jury for the Elizabeth Haub Award for Environmental Diplomacy.

Email E-mail
Delicious Print

The award has been given annually since 1998 by the International Council of Environmental Law and Pace University School of Law, which consider the most important diplomatic achievement in the field of environmental law and policy in the preceding year.

The jury cited Cicin-Sain's “outstanding contributions to the international efforts to preserve the world's oceans and the several international agreements related to them,” adding that, “This is especially important at a time when oceans and their fisheries are under such heavy stress from climate change, pollution, acidification, and unsustainable fishing practices.”

The Elizabeth Haub Award for Environmental Diplomacy has typically been given to key diplomatic figures who have made a significant contribution in advancing specific aspects of international law and policy related to sustainable development. To view a list of past recipients, visit the Haub Award site. Go to the English language version and click on prizes in the list at left.

Cicin-Sain, who also chairs the Global Forum on Oceans, Coasts, and Islands, noted that she was very honored and thankful to the Haub jury for including her humble efforts in “informal diplomacy,” mainly as an academic and leader of a nongovernmental organization, the Global Forum, in such a distinguished group.

She will receive a Gold Medal and Diploma Award associated with the Haub prize on May 13.

Among her other recent honors, Cicin-Sain was awarded an honorary doctorate in maritime law by the president of Korea Maritime University at the World Ocean Forum in Busan, Korea, on Nov. 15, 2010, in a dual ceremony in which an honorary doctorate was also awarded to H.E. Danny Philip, prime minister, Solomon Islands.

She is also the recipient of the Coastal Zone Foundation Award (2007), the Elizabeth Mann Borgese Meerespreis (Prize of the Sea) (2007) and the Ocean and Coastal Stewardship Award from the California and the World Ocean Conference (2002).

Article by Elizabeth Boyle