UD figure skaters qualify for national teams


UDaily is produced by Communications and Public Affairs
The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
email: publicaffairs@udel.edu

1:16 p.m., Dec. 7, 2010----Competitors from the University of Delaware's High Performance Figure Skating Center have qualified for the senior and junior national teams following the Eastern sectional championships held recently in Aston, Pa.

Email E-mail
Delicious Print

The 2011 U.S. Figure Skating Championships will be held Jan. 22-30, 2011, in Greensboro, N.C., and the U.S. Junior Figure Skating Championships will be held Dec. 14-18 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The University will host a U.S. National Figure Skating Send Off Exhibition on Saturday, Jan. 15, at 5 p.m., at the Fred Rust Ice Arena.

Following are UD skaters who have qualified:

National team

Cassandra Jeandell and Damian Dodge, novice dance Eastern sectional pewter medalists.

Viviana Mathis, novice ladies Eastern sectional pewter medalist.

Andrew Nagode, novice men Eastern sectional silver medalist.

Anastasia Cannuscio and Colin McManus, junior dance Eastern sectional silver medalists.

Danielle and Alexander Gamelin, junior dance Eastern sectional bronze medalists.

Emmanuel Savary, junior men Eastern sectional bronze medalist.

Meredith Zuber and Kyle Herring, senior dance Eastern sectional silver medalists.

Katherine Pilgrim and Alex Lorello, senior dance Eastern sectional pewter medalists.

Melissa Bulanhagui, senior ladies Eastern sectional silver medalist.

Erika Smith and Nate Bartholomay, senior pairs Eastern sectional champions.

ISU Grand Prix team members

Isabella Cannuscio and Ian Lorello

Felicia Zhang and Taylor Toth

International team member

Clara Peters, Ireland

Junior national team

Kirsten Vetland and Nathan Cooper, juvenile pairs, fourth place

Rebecca Lustig and Brendan Newberry, juvenile dance, eighth place

Meara Lorello and William Dean, intermediate dance Eastern sectional champions

Whitney Miller and Grant Lorello, intermediate dance Eastern sectional silver medalists

Caitlin Belt and Michael Johnson, intermediate pairs Eastern sectional champions.