96 UD students selected as Women of Promise
Monica Taylor, University of Delaware vice president for development and alumni relations, addressed the Women of Promise.
UDaily is produced by Communications and Marketing
The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
email: ocm@udel.edu

11:44 a.m., Dec. 1, 2008----The University of Delaware honored 96 students who were selected as Women of Promise by the University's Commission on the Status of Women during its annual dinner on Nov. 18. Nearly 100 faculty and UD administrators, including President Patrick Harker, were in attendance.

Email E-mail
Delicious Print

The Women of Promise dinner honors undergraduate students of exceptional promise. Tenured women faculty nominate the students and accompany them to the dinner.

The Women of Promise dinner also fosters mentoring relationships between faculty and students, and increases the students' involvement in the intellectual life of the University.

This year's Women of Promise dinner featured a talk by Monica Taylor, UD vice president for development and alumni relations. She presented three pieces of advice, encouraging students to “use your values and principles to drive your passion - don't worry about having a grand plan; cultivate relationships and keep in touch with people; and celebrate being a woman.”

Taylor said her advice came from her own experiences. She cited the value of pursuing those things in which you find passion, and added it is important to always believe in yourself.

The Women of Promise for 2008 are:

Ashley Alberico, Jenna Allen, Meridith Ambrose, Esmeralda Ayllon Ayllon, Josefina Ayllon Ayllon, Nicole Aziaga, Alicia Baddorf, Vanessa Banegos, Diniece Barran, Kristen Beebe, Caroline Booze, Natalie Brousseau, Rebecca Buxbaum, Brittany Carson, Alyson Cavanaugh, Carolyn Clark, Terese Condella, Katie Conklin, Samantha Cooper, Michelle Davis, Melissa Day, Andrea English, Sarah Esralew, Amanda Fox, Katie Fransen, Lucy Fromtling, Ashley Fry, Erica Godwin, Jacinta Gracias, Mia Grifford, Elizabeth Hanle, Laura Hartman, Rachelle Hay, Molly Hayeslip, Gretchen Hellstern, Abigail Holmes, Pat Jackson, Neeta Jain, Sara Jamison, Alishah Jones, Jessica Klosiewicz, Lindsay Koenings, Katie Krattenmaker, Allison Lamma, Kelly Lawless, Stephanie Machacek, Sarah Mainardi, Sana Malik, Grace Manalo, Jazmyn Manzouri, Samantha Mark, Jennifer Mascaro, Jennifer Masters, Alyssa May, Jennifer McCord, Lindsey McCormack, Kelley McGraw, Elizabeth McLean, Jennifer Merolla, Shannon Moore, Sarah Nash, Samantha Nigro, Kristin Nuzzio, Maureen Oderwald, Michele Packer, Jessica Lynne Page, Danielle Pisechko, Ashley Prather, Leah Putman, Mary Putnam, Sarah Reeves, Rachel Reist, Emily Robinson, Stephanie Rozzero, Meredith Rubin, Allison Ruppino, Amy Russell, Rachel Schnaitman, Laura Schenck, Katie Schieffer, Brittany Scott, Heather Silva, Melissa Skolnick, Theresa Sollecito, Catherine Sun, Meaghan Toole, Katie Uehling, Mfon Umoren, Sarah Kim Vennard, Jasmine Washington, Alissa Werzen, Shiloh Wersen, Kishana Williamson, Diane Wright, Marlene Yandrisevits and Brittany Yourinson.