Disable Mac OS X (10.5 and 10.6) File Sharing

To disable (turn off) Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) or Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) file sharing, follow these steps:

  1. From the Apple menu, click System Preferences.
  2. In the System Preferences window, click the Sharing icon in the third row. This icon is circled in white in the following graphic:

    file sharing icon

  3. You will see the Sharing window, which looks similar to the one below:

file sharing window

  1. Confirm that the checkbox in front of File Sharing in the left-hand column does not contain a check mark. If it does, click to remove it. Removing a check mark will disable file sharing on your computer, which will make your computer more secure.
  2. Close the Sharing window.

Security & The Internet  |  News & Alerts  |  Reporting Incidents  |  Using the UD Network  |  UD Security Tool Chest  |  UD Security Home 

Last updated December 17, 2009