About the Strategic Plannning Initiative

The strategic planning process will be a forward-looking, action-oriented dialogue to identify the handful of major initiatives that will continue UD's path to prominence in our core mission areas: Undergraduate Education; Graduate Education; Scholarship and Research; and Public, Professional and Community Service. 

A Strategic Planning Committee composed of a thoughtful group of faculty and administrators will lead a community-wide discussion on the University's current capabilities and positioning, and consider actions and opportunities that would serve as priorities for the next few years.

It is important that the Strategic Planning Committee's recommendations are well grounded in the realities facing the University and that they have significant support from the University's key Constituencies, including faculty, students, staff, alumni, Trustees, community members and our state leadership. At the same time, this should be a thoughtful and independent look at the University led by the faculty and senior staff.

Debra Hess Norris, Co-Chair
Henry Francis du Pont Chair of Fine Arts, Chairperson of the Department of Art
Conservation and Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Mark Barteau, Co-Chair
Robert L. Pigford Chair of Chemical Engineering and former Chairperson of the Department of
Chemical Engineering

Ralph Begleiter
Rosenberg Professor of Communication and Distinguished Journalist in Residence

Nancy Brickhouse
Professor and Director of the School of Education

Tom Church
E. I. duPont Professor of Marine Biochemistry and Biophysics

Michael Gilbert
Vice President for Student Life

Lesa Griffiths
Director of the Center for International Studies and Professor of Animal Sciences

Lou Hirsh
Director of Admissions

Matt Kinservik
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in the Department of English

Ken Miller
Professor and Director of the School of Nursing

Robin Morgan
Dean and Professor in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Charlie Riordan
Professor and former Chairperson of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

John Sawyer
Professor and former Chairperson of the Department of Business Administration

Leland Ware
Louis L. Redding Chair for the Study of Law and Public Policy in the School of Urban Affairs
and Public Policy

Patricia Wilson
Vice President and Chief of Staff, Office of the President

© University of Delaware . Newark, Delaware 19716 USA . (302) 831-2792 UD home