Header image  
at the University of Delaware  
line decor
line decor


NCSS Thematic Standards for Teaching Social Studies

The National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) developed ten content standards, addressing the various areas of the Social Sciences.

Standard 1: Culture & Cultural Diversity (doc) (pdf)

Standard 2: Time, Continuity, & Change (doc) (pdf)

Standard 3: People, Places, & Environments (doc) (pdf)

Standard 4: Individual Development & Identity (doc) (pdf)

Standard 5: Individuals, Groups, & Institutions (doc) (pdf)

Standard 6: Power, Authority, & Governance (doc) (pdf)

Standard 7: Production, Distribution, & Consumption (doc) (pdf)

Standard 8: Science, Technology, & Society (doc) (pdf)

Standard 9: Global Connections (doc) (pdf)

Standard 10: Civic Ideals & Practices (doc) (pdf)