Office of the Vice President
for Administration

Salaried Staff Advisory Council

Minutes February 16, 2006

Please submit agenda items for the April 12, 2006 meeting to Julie Skeen by April 5, 2006.

The meeting was called to order at 2:33 p.m.

SSAC members present were:
Member District Member District
Michael DiMauro 1 Susan Williams 10
Patti Hall 2 James Elfers 11
Kimberly Doucette 3 Marge Hadden 12
Diana Simmons 4 Karen Clark 13
Deborah Hall 5 Gwen RoBison 14
Ann Woodall 8

Members Absent: Paige Seppanen (#7), Marylee Frederick (#9)

Visitors: Marlene Osborne

Others Present: Maxine Colm, Thomas LaPenta, Richie Holland, Julie Skeen

Mr. Holland welcomed the newly elected and returning SSAC representatives. He briefly reviewed the redistricting structure and provided Web and contact information. Each representative then introduced him/herself to the group.

The December 14, 2005 minutes were approved as written.

Excellence in Service Award Program
Mr. Holland outlined this new award program which will recognize the outstanding contributions of professional and salaried staff. The program is budgeted for up to six awards of $2,500 each in any one year. Awardees will be selected by a committee comprised of PAC, SSAC and HRAC members as appointed by the Vice President for Administration. Full details of the program and submission forms can be accessed at Nominations for 2006 awards will be accepted through March. Nominations received after March 31 will be considered for the following year’s awards. Dr. Colm stressed the importance of providing supporting documentation. Mr. Holland also stressed that nominees must be permanent, full time employees.

Performance Appraisal Process
Mr. Holland reminded the group that the appraisal process is currently underway and should be completed before April 28, 2006. He noted that two supervisory workshops are being offered as well as two employee workshops to enhance skills needed in completing the process. Employees who feel they may be encountering a difficult or delicate problem or situation may contact Mr. Holland, Mr. LaPenta or a member of the Grievance Advisory Committee for guidance.

Old Business

Constituent Concerns
Mr. Elfers inquired about the status of the faculty contract negotiations. Dr. Colm indicated they have been completed and that we are now in the first year of a three-year agreement.

A constituent of Ms. Williams reported having a problem with the limited parking at the Carpenter Sports Center. Dr. Colm noted that additional parking is now available at the nearby Hollingsworth lot (Lot #19) since student parking has been restricted there. James Grimes, Public Safety, reports that in '04-'05 there were 300 spaces allocated to resident students. In '05-'06 there are 200 spaces allocated to resident students. There are a total of 506 spaces in Lot #19.

Ms. D. Hall raised a constituent’s concern about the stability of the Delaware State Pension Plan, especially in light of recent news reports of pension plans folding nationwide. Mr. LaPenta stated the state plan is the safest type plan in the country, protected and guaranteed by the State of Delaware.

Ms. Hadden asked who has the authority to grant sick leave in cases where an employee's absence exceeds their earned sick leave. Mr. LaPenta said that special situations should be referred to him. An additional period of sick leave may be granted by Dr. Colm in cases of extreme hardship. It was noted that vacation leave may also be utilized when sick leave has been exhausted. Ms. Hadden asked for whom dependent sick leave may be used. The policy states

 Up to three days of earned sick leave may be used in any twelve-month period to provide direct care for an eligible family member physically unable to provide for him or herself due to illness or injury. Eligible family members include a spouse (as defined by law), dependent parent, or child.

Mr. LaPenta noted that this policy was sponsored initially by the PAC and SSAC groups to ease commonly encountered but difficult family situations.

Committee Representative Elections
Mr. LaPenta indicated the committees that need SSAC representation and solicited volunteers. The representatives elected follow:

Commission to Promote Racial and Cultural Diversity Virginia Thomas
Commission on the Status of Women Diana Simmons
Dining Services Committee Susan Williams
Parking Advisory Committee Mayra Focht (to complete the committee year)
Transportation Services Committee Deborah Hall

Mr. LaPenta also noted that two members of the Grievance Advisory Committee are rotating to the Hearing Board, thereby creating two committee vacancies. Any salaried staff employee interested in serving and whose schedule and responsibilities will permit their serving is encouraged to submit a biographical sketch to SSAC for consideration. Representatives will be elected at the next meeting from the eligible candidates submitting supporting biographies.


The meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas LaPenta

Reviewed by Marge Hadden as authorized by SSAC.

SSAC Minutes Index
University of Delaware Home
VP Finance & Administration Home