University Senate Gen Ed Committee

University Faculty Senate General Education Committee
This committee shall recommend academic policies and standards for the General Education Program. It shall evaluate on a regular basis the implementation of the General Education Initiative and its goals. It shall also have the ability to develop and recommend new general education initiatives and to bring forward resolutions seeking to improve the ways in which the University fosters the goals of general education.

This committee shall consist of 15 members, including the Provost or designee; a representative of the office of Educational Assessment; a Residence Life representative; an Undergraduate Studies Committee representative; two faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences (one representing humanities and social sciences, the other representing natural and mathematical sciences); one faculty representative from each of the remaining colleges; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students.

The faculty representatives will be different from faculty members serving on the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and they will be selected by the Committee on Committees and Nominations (COCAN). These representatives will serve two year terms, and they may be reappointed. One of the faculty representatives will be designated chairperson of the committee by COCAN.

The chairperson of the Committee may request the appointment of up to two additional representatives of administrative offices (such as Admissions, Service Learning, Center for Teaching Effectiveness, Career Services, etc.) if such appointments would assist the committee in developing or evaluating particular general education initiatives. These additional representatives shall not have voting privileges.

2011-2012 Committee Members

Karen Stein, Public Policy and Administration (Committee Chair)

Avron Abraham, Provost Designee

Carmine Balascio, Bioresources Engineering

John Gizis, Physics and Astronomy

Lynn Worden, Human Development and Family Studies 

Kathleen Kerr, Residence Life

Julia Bayuk, Business Administration

Kelebogile Setiloane, Dept. of Behavioral Health and Nutrition

Kathleen Langan Pusecker, Office of Educational Assessment

Alvina Quintana, Women's & Latin American Studies

Lynnette Overby, Undergraduate Research and Experiential Learning (Committee Chair's appointee)