About Don
Group Business
Group News
July 2014 Sara Martin has successfully defended her PhD dissertation.
July 2014 Our full paper describing our second generation catalyst for allyl silane synthesis using the silyl-Heck reaction has appeared in JACS. Congrats Jesse! Read More.


CONGRATULATIONS TO DR. PETER GILDN sER FOR SUCESSFULLY DEFENDING HIS PHD! He is first Watson group graduate student to earn a PhD.
Feb 2014 The Watson Group has been awarded a $1.47 million dollar NIH R01 Grant to investigate transition metal catalysted reactions of nitroalkanes!
Aug. 2013 Our JACS paper regarding vinyl silyl ether formation using the silyl-Heck reaction has appeared online! Read More.
June 2013 Congratutions to Keywan and Niajing on the completion of this BS degress in Chemistry. Good luck in grad. school!
DAW has been awarded a 2013 Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation. See Press Release from Research Corp.


The DAW Research Group has received a NSF CAREER Award for our work on Silyl-Heck Reactions.


Our collborative paper with the J. Rosenthal Group discribing the use of on-surface cross coupling reactions to prepare functionalized electrodes has been accepted to Chem. Sci. as a communication. Read more here.
Our paper describing our development of a copper catalyst for the benzylation of nitroalkanes has been accepted to J. Am. Chem. Soc. as a communication. Read more here.


Chemical and Engineering News has highlighted our Silyl Heck work in a "News of the Week Article. Click here to read the article.
March 2012 The DAW Group first publicaiton appeared this week on Angew. Chem. detailing the development of conditions for Silyl-Heck Reactions. Congratulation to Jesse, Sara, Derek and Keywan! Read more here.
Feb 2012 Undergraduate Keywan Johnson has been awarded a prestigious HHMI EXXOP Fellowship for the Summer of 2012. Congrats Keywan!
Dec 2011 Gradaute Students Steven Rossi and Kirk Shimkin join the group!
March 8th, 2011 Undergraduate Derek Anheman has been awarded an AmUndergradute Keywan Johnson has been awarded a prestigous erican Chemical Society Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF). This nationally competitive fellowship will support Derek's research in the group over Summer 2011. Congratuations Derek!
Dec 15th, 2010 Graduate students Yuan Hu and Di Cui join the group!
Nov. 15th, 2010 Postdoc Qun Xu joins the group!
July 1st, 2010 Graduate student Amber Geitter joins the group!

June 25, 2010

A second article covering work from Don's postdoc at MIT is published in Science. See Article.
March 30, 2010
David Rodriguez has been awarded a summer internship at Bristol-Myers Squibb. Congrats David!

March 26, 2010

Derek Anheman is awarded a Science and Engineering Scholars Program Fellowship from the University of Delaware for summer research in 2010. Great Job Derek!

Jan 3, 2010

Undergraduate Derek Anheman (Class of 2012) and Jesse McAtee (MS, Univ. Hawaii) join the group.
Dec. 1, 2009
Graduate Student Eser Artuck joins the group.
Oct 1, 2009
Postdoc Dr. Nirmal Pahadi joins the group.
Sept. 12, 2009
Undergraduate David Rodriguez (Class of 2011) join the group.
Aug. 13, 2009
Don's work from his postdoc at MIT is published in Science. See Article. This work is highlighted in C&E News and Chemistry World.
July 1, 2009

Sara Schwanger, Peter Gildner and Christina Forbes join the group as summer research students

July 1, 2009
Research Begins