American Association of University Professors
University of Delaware Chapter

301 McDowell Hall, University of Delaware, Newark, DE  19716
Phone: 302-831-2292; Fax: 302-831-4119; E-mail:

Home Membership People Resources News CBA Constitution & Bylaws Student Award

AAUP Executive Council Minutes
November 17, 2008
Room 302 McDowell Hall, 1:00 p.m.


PRESENT: Linda Bucher (presiding), Leon Campbell, Gerald Turkel, Danilo Yanich, Sheldon Pollack, David Smith, Pat Barber, Calvin Keeler, and Kevin Kerrane (secretary)

The meeting began in Executive Session with reports from the Grievance Officer, D. Smith, and the Contract Maintenance Office, L. Campbell.

Following approval of the minutes from the October 20, L. Bucher said that the ballot for new Executive Council officers had been sent out earlier in the day, and that the anticipated president-elect, Joan DelFattore, would attend our December 15 meeting. Terms for the new officers will be January 1, 2009 – December 31, 2010.

Regular Meeting:

Council looked at new statistics regarding the university’s student-faculty ratio, and at new lists of members and non-members of AAUP. It was agreed that the lists, while in need of further updating, will provide a good starting point for efforts at building membership.

Treasurer’s Report: S. Pollack noted that the value of chapter investments had recently declined by about $30,000, but that the overall financial picture remained reasonably good. He added that there has been no change in the monthly operating budget.

The AAUP Voice: G. Turkel said the November-December issue of the newsletter would be published after the election for the Executive Council was over, and that the first issue in 2009 would carry a statement from our outgoing president, Linda Bucher.

Old Business:

There were no updates on the chapter history, or on the work of the Salary Equity Review Committee.

The joint Annual Evaluation/Merit Pay Committee, which includes three of our Council members (S. Pollack, D. Smith, G. Turkel), had recently conducted four meetings with departments, with at least that many more planned before the end of the fall semester. D. Smith observed that most of the problems discussed so far had been small, but that some chairs needed to be reminded of basic premises of Article 12.3 in the CBA.

S. Pollack emphasized the importance of these discussions in light of the administration’s wish to maximize the merit component in faculty raises. G. Turkel suggested and the Council agreed that we should survey members and non-members in the spring (2009) regarding this issue (i.e., the merit percentage that faculty consider to be fair/desired). G. Turkel said that the National AAUP would be an important resource. A more detailed survey of the faculty re: bargaining issues will be conducted per usual in the fall (2009).


New Business:

L. Bucher announced that the survey of faculty who are not AAUP members would be sent out on Monday, December 1 st (after Thanksgiving Break). The survey was approved with no corrections or additions – L. Bucher will circulate the link to the survey to Council members to determine if any computer glitches exist.

G. Turkel said that there was no news from the National AAUP.

The meeting adjourned with a reminder that the next Council meeting will be held on Monday, December 15, at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
K. Kerrane