American Association of University Professors
University of Delaware Chapter

011F Hullihen Hall, University of Delaware, Newark, DE  19716
Phone: 302-831-2292; Fax: 302-831-4119; E-mail:

Home Membership People Resources News CBA Constitution & Bylaws Student Award

AAUP Executive Council
September 12, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT: Prasad Dhurjati, Diane Ferry, Brian Hanson, Calvin Keeler, Leslie Reidel, Dave Smith, Tim Spaulding, Gerry Turkel, Danilo Yanich

ALSO PRESENT: Suzanne Potts, Office Manager

The minutes from the July 19, 2012 Executive Council meeting were accepted and approved.

Executive Session:

Reports were given by Contract Maintenance Officer and Grievance Officer.

Open Session:

Prasad gave a report on the last Faculty Senate meeting.

It was requested that the November Executive Council meeting be changed to November 7.  This was agreed to by members.

David and Gerry have submitted names for potential Steering Committee members.  These names will be reviewed and nominations will be discussed at the October meeting.

Tim requested we set copy deadlines for submission of information for the newsletter.  The following deadlines were agreed upon:

            September 24 for first issue.

            October 8 for second issue

Survey topics/questions and deadlines will be discussed at next meeting.

A speaker for Fall 2012 was discussed.  Gerry will arrange for speaker during the week of October 29.  It will be a lunchtime workshop followed by open discussion.

There will be a Steering Committee meeting in November.  The Bargaining Committee will be selected at this meeting.

The Bargaining Committee will be discussed at the October Executive Council meeting.