American Association of University Professors
University of Delaware Chapter

301 McDowell Hall, University of Delaware, Newark, DE  19716
Phone: 302-831-2292; Fax: 302-831-4119; E-mail:

Home Membership People Resources News CBA Constitution & Bylaws Student Award

AAUP Executive Council Minutes
May 19, 2008
Room 302 McDowell Hall, 9:00 a.m.


PRESENT: Linda Bucher (presiding), Leon Campbell, Gerald Turkel, Sheldon Pollack, David Smith, Steve Dentel, Pat Barber, and Kevin Kerrane (secretary)

The meeting began in Executive Session with reports from the Grievance Officer, D. Smith, and the Contract Maintenance Office, L. Campbell.

Regular Meeting:

Additions to the agenda: L. Bucher proposed discussion of the elections in fall 2008 to fill vacancies on the Executive Council. K. Kerrane proposed discussion of an AAUP membership drive in the fall semester—and G. Turkel mentioned plans to meet with members of each department of the university, explaining faculty rights and our chapter’s commitment to maintaining them.

Minutes from the Council meeting of April 28 were approved with no corrections.

Office Update: L. Bucher announced that Rita Girardi has received a software program on bookkeeping, and would soon start training with it. L. Campbell said that, at some point, we might want to cut office costs by offering an internship. (Note: The recent vote regarding eligibility to vote on the new contract cost the chapter about $1,000. It resulted in a clear mandate, 206 to 15, to limit voting to AAUP members.)

Treasurer’s Report: S. Pollack noted that our accounts were recovering from downturns in the market, but we were still off by about $5,000 for the year. He added that the chapter’s portfolio is well diversified.

AAUP Voice: G. Turkel said that the next issue of the Voice would announce the complete tally of recent voting on the new contract. It would also clarify details of the fall election for vacancies on the Executive Council, and would invite nominations.

Old Business:

Update on Contract: L. Bucher said that the Steering Committee meeting on May 14 was positive. Ballots on the new contract had been sent out one day earlier, and they were scheduled to be counted on May 23 (Friday) at 4:30 p.m. in Room 302 McDowell.

Update on Chapter History: Discussion was deferred on the chapter history. There was no news from Steve Finner.

Assuming the new contract is approved, representatives of the AAUP would then meet with Mike Middaugh to do salary-equity calculations; G. Turkel suggested this slate of representatives: David Smith, Leon Campbell, and someone from the AAUP Steering Committee. Sherry Kitto was recommended and will be invited to serve in this capacity. D. Smith noted that this work would deal with principles more with specific numbers, and he volunteered to collaborate with G. Turkel on a side letter regarding Article 12.4 in the new contract.

New Business:

Membership related issues: S. Dentel suggested a “Members Only” section on the web site to highlight the value added benefits of membership; Survey of non-members to be considered.

National news: G. Turkel announced that the University of Connecticut chapter had withdrawn from the CBC, regarding it as too small to be effective. The Connecticut chapter may remain independent; it seems clear that they will not affiliate with AFT.

L. Bucher asked Council members to think about possible speakers for the fall luncheon that we co-sponsor with the Provost’s Office. She also stressed that everyone presently on Council would be eligible for re-election. K. Kerrane and S. Dentel said that they would not be running for re-election, but they promised to look for worthy candidates.

 Next meeting—September 2008—to be announced.

 Respectfully submitted,
Kevin Kerrane, Secretary