American Association of University Professors
University of Delaware Chapter

301 McDowell Hall, University of Delaware, Newark, DE  19716
Phone: 302-831-2292; Fax: 302-831-4119; E-mail:

Home Membership People Resources News CBA Constitution & Bylaws Student Award

AAUP Executive Council
April 18, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT: Prasad Dhurjati, Diane Ferry, Brian Hanson, Calvin Keeler, Leslie, Reidel, Dave Smith, Tim Spaulding, Gerry Turkel, Danilo Yanich

ALSO PRESENT: Suzanne Potts, Office Manager

Executive Session:

Reports were given by Contract Maintenance Officer and Grievance Officer.


Open Session:

Dave Smith reported on the Faculty Handbook/CBA Committee.  The Committee met and is making progress.  Some changes are clerical, some substantive.  Any changes to Faculty Handbook need to be voted on by Faculty Senate.  Target to get changes voted on is Fall 2012.

Dave also reported on the Categories of Instruction Committee.  It was decided that rather than spelling out numerous samples of workload in the CBA, a few examples will be listed and it will be noted that workloads will be spelled out in each Department's Workload Policy.

There was a question regarding whether or not the AAUP had vetted the Involuntary Leave Policy.  Gerry Turkel is on the Committee, but not as a representative of AAUP.  He has reported to the AAUP Executive Council but Council has not voted on the Policy.  Gerry will make comments in the Committee that the policy is or is not in compliance with AAUP Contracts, but will not give approval for AAUP

The Council discussed a proposed agenda for the May 2 Steering Committee and Department Representatives meeting.  The following items will be on the agenda:

            Mission Statement
            Status of Committees
Salary Data
Increase Membership--give Steering Committee and Department Representatives
                discussion points for talking to colleagues

Membership data will be reported at each meeting.

Approved 5/16/2012