American Association of University Professors
University of Delaware Chapter

301 McDowell Hall, University of Delaware, Newark, DE  19716
Phone: 302-831-2292; Fax: 302-831-4119; E-mail:

Home Membership People Resources News CBA Constitution & Bylaws Student Award

Minutes from January 19, 2005 Executive Council Meeting

1:00pm; 347 McDowell Hall

Present: Linda Bucher, Leon Campbell, Kevin Kerrane, David Smith, Gerry Turkel, Judy Van Name and Danilo Yanich

President Linda Bucher called the meeting to order at 1:15 pm.

David Smith provided the Grievance Officer's Report in a closed Executive Session.

Gerry reported on the aaUPBEAT Newsletters. The January issue, on the faculty survey results, is completed and will be distributed soon. The February issue will focus on bargaining. Gerry will meet with Bob to discuss a change in the newsletter format. We are in the process of locating a union printer.

Old Business

Website update: Marc Drumm is willing to design and update the AAUP website. He estimates it will take 40-50 hours at $50/hour. Danilo moved and Gerry seconded a motion to hire him which was approved. David Smith will communicate this to Marc and Linda and Rita will work with Marc.

There will be an Open Faculty meeting on Monday, Feb 28 at 10 am to discuss the proposed bylaw revisions. Location to be announced.

Due to Arwen Mohun's sabbatical (04F-05S), there is still one vacancy on the Steering Committee in Arts & Sciences. Linda would be happy to receive a nomination.

New Business

Doug Doren, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry requested a meeting with AAUP representatives on behalf of the faculty in Chemistry and Engineering. Linda included Steve Dentel in the meeting that will be scheduled for next week.

Spring semester Executive Council meetings:

  • 2-14-05 at 10 am
  • 3-14-05 at 10 am
  • 4-11-05 at 10 am
  • 5-16-05 at 10 am

Respectfully submitted by Judith Van Name