# **The Nobel Prize**

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for peace. In 1968, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was established. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award of about \$1.5 million.

The College of Arts and Sciences presents a two-day symposium of talks by prominent UD Faculty who will discuss the research and careers of the newly minted Nobel Laureates for 2007. Refreshments will be served.

### **Prizes in the Natural Sciences**

Wednesday, October 17, 12-2 pm in the Trabant Theatre

#### 12:00 NOON • Introduction

Thomas Apple, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

#### 12:10 PM • Nobel Prize for Medicine —

Awarded to Mario R. Capecchi, Martin J. Evans, and Oliver Smithies for producing specific genetic alterations in mice

**Catherine Kirn-Safran**, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences



#### 12:40 PM • Refreshments

#### 1:00 PM • Nobel Prize for Physics —

Awarded to Albert Fert and Peter Grunberg for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance

Edmund Nowak, Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy



# 1:30 PM • Nobel Prize for Chemistry —

Awarded to Gerhard Ertl for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces

**Jochen Lauterbach,** Professor, Chemical Engineering, and former student of Professor Ertl



## 2:00 PM ● Adjournment

# **Prizes in Literature, Peace, and Economics**Wednesday, October 24, 12–2 pm in the Trabant Theatre

Program to be announced on October 17

Sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences