Volume 7, Number 3, 1998

Army ROTC alumni honored

Eleven University of Delaware alumni, who graduated from
Army ROTC and went on to distinguished military careers,
were inducted into the Fightin' Blue Hen Battalion Hall of Heroes in the fall.

Framed photographs of each inductee and a volume including biographical resumes, assembled by Capt. Charupin N. Lemin, AS '86, are on display at the ROTC headquarters building.

To qualify for election to the Hall of Heroes, alumni must have received a commission from the University's ROTC program or one of its predecessors, and have one or more significant personal or professional achievements. These can include earning the Medal
of Honor or other combat decorations, election to a state or national office, achieving a leadership position in
an organization or corporation, recognition
for state or national service
or other professional contributions.

The 1997 inductees include

Maj. Gen. Albert W. Adams
Class of 1936

Brig. Gen. J. Alexander Crothers
Class of 1916 (deceased)

1st Lt. John R. Fenimore Jr.
Class of 1946

Col. William Herbert Francisco
Class of 1967

Col. Paul W. Hamblin
Class of 1943

Capt. James H. Johnson Jr.
Class of 1955 (deceased)

Col. Art Krause
Class of 1942

Col. Norman F. Lord
Class of 1942

1st Lt. David M. Salter Jr.
Class of 1955 (deceased)

Lt. Gen. Julian C. Smith
Class of 1907 (deceased)

Brig. Gen. Edwin William Thompson
Class of 1936